1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General I Too Returned My Evo =( Signal Issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by armeN0317, Jun 22, 2012.

  1. armeN0317

    armeN0317 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    135
    60
    53
    Let me start off by saying I loved the phone coming from an OG Evo 4G that was flashed to Boost. I had my phone for a little over 2 weeks. I had the dreaded fluctuating signal issue where my signal would randomly drop from 3g to 1x then to nothing. I had to toggle 4g on and off for signal to come back on or restart the phone. The areas that this occurred in my wife's Evo 4g Flashed to boost had no problems. I was hoping I had a bad phone so I swapped the phone out yesterday for another one and still had the same issue. This is definitely a Virgin Mobile software issue. I had Virgin Tech Support via email and phone trying to assist with the issue but there was no resolve. I could not conduct business with the dropped calls and missing cell signal so sadly I had to return the phone. I switched to Verizon and ended up with a Droid Razr Maxx. My new phone is GREAT! and best of all I have no signal issues. Breaking away from the HTC line of android was scary but I'm very happy with my phone and it's opened me up to a whole new world of what a real Android phone is like. I wish you all the best in the community and hopefully virgin figures something out in the near future. For those who are curious I live in the Los Angeles area right under a blanket of 4g coverage and still experienced the signal issues.
     

    Advertisement

  2. motoracer1486

    motoracer1486 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    301
    29
    43
    You are not alone with the signal problem - I'm dealing with exactly the same issues now. :(
     
  3. Hollaback12786

    Hollaback12786 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    198
    19
    38
    Connecticut
    Mine does fluctuate but it doesn't ever cut off completely where I have to reboot or anything and I don't get the greatest service near my house
     
  4. a12tmoreno

    a12tmoreno Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012

    Jun 5, 2012
    13
    0
    15
    I am experiencing the same issues with data and text messages (radio interference error). It takes about a minute or two and then data comes back and messages are sent through. The VM techs who did troubleshooting on my account did not mention anything about network issues. Which it
     
  5. jt415105

    jt415105 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012

    Feb 2, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    This is happening in Charleston, WV as well. Instead of restarting your phone do a System Update. However it is terribly inconvenient
     
  6. cutterjohn

    cutterjohn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    280
    30
    43
    No doubt about it. Verizon simply spanks ALL of the other carriers by a WIDE margin in coverage and general quality of service, but I'm done with $90 or so plans and contracts. I just don't go out into the boonies as much any longer and teh wunderful TSA has almost totally quenched what little attraction returning to the US ever had to me, let alone flying anywhere.
     
  7. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Once they launch Network Vision, coverage should be better when they move 3G to the lower spectrum. Our phones support those bands that Network Vision will operate on.
     
  8. jr2673

    jr2673 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    149
    11
    58
    Computer Repair!
    Homestead,FL
    I be-leave its the Radio In ICS watch they will have an update to fix this i bet everything that Sprint/Virginmobile have HTC working on the fix ... Why do i say this? is because i had this same problem with my HTC HD2 on T-mobile But i did not wait for an update i flashed a New Radio and Bam Fixed Then A mirai Rom Installed a little after that. Man that was the best phone ever ... Till now Its The Evo I i plan on playing with later on..
    Im sorry you had to go that way but i feel your pain that's why i left Metropcs And i had The LG Esteem ..
     
  9. Admack

    Admack Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012

    Jan 26, 2012
    94
    29
    23
    I think it's the radio too. I've been emailing back and forth with HTC and they said they're aware and are working on a fix.
     
    qu4ttro and Leslie Ann like this.
  10. tardwash

    tardwash Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012

    Jun 7, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I returned mine this week after suffering all the problems posted in this thread. I had not canceled my at&t service yet and I was lucky enough to find a Galaxy Nexus for $320 on CL. I did enjoy the Evo V while I had it, and I'm loving the Nexus.
     
  11. smartphone45

    smartphone45 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    54
    0
    15
    I really wonder how many people actually have a signal fluctuation problem? Not to many people are posting this issue...I did have an evo v phone with these problems and returned it to Rat Shack...I am thinking of purchasing another evo v phone this time from Best Buy...I truly do hope that this next phone will not have these issues and hopefully it will be a VM branded phone also ....:adore:
     
  12. mogelijk

    mogelijk Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,904
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012

    Jun 8, 2012
    1,904
    648
    213
    Out of curiosity, any reason you are wanting a VM branded phone?
     
  13. hemplacrosse4

    hemplacrosse4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    123
    4
    36
    Now if I return my phone to Radio Shack and swap it out for another one do I have to pay another 35 dollars to top up or can they switch over my account without having to pay anything extra?
     
  14. prepaiduser

    prepaiduser Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    26
    4
    16
    i have been missing calls and texts. calls would not go through at all but a voicemail icon would appear many hours later. yesterday, i received texts 7 hours after the fact
     
  15. jr2673

    jr2673 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    149
    11
    58
    Computer Repair!
    Homestead,FL
    Get your Money Back Then ...
     
  16. mogelijk

    mogelijk Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,904
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012

    Jun 8, 2012
    1,904
    648
    213
    You don't have to pay another $35 to swap out the phone. The only reason people had a $35 charge when switching to the Evo from another phone is that they had to switch from the grandfathered $25 plan to the $35 plan -- there is no charge to swap phones (as long as you don't call customer support, which apparently has a $10 charge) as long as you aren't changing plans.
     
  17. jt415105

    jt415105 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012

    Feb 2, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    I am returning my phone as well today....getting a cheap VM phone until the new iPhone comes out.
     
  18. jr2673

    jr2673 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    149
    11
    58
    Computer Repair!
    Homestead,FL
    ok
     
  19. hemplacrosse4

    hemplacrosse4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    123
    4
    36
    I'm a little confused, I want to make sure it is activated correctly because some people are stating that the reason for the error code was because it wasn't done right. So if I call Virgin Mobile and have them activate it they will charge me an extra 10 just to activate it?
     
  20. mogelijk

    mogelijk Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,904
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012

    Jun 8, 2012
    1,904
    648
    213
    From what I recall seeing, there are two problems that people have had activating. 1) They didn't upgrade from the $25/month plan to a current plan before trying to activate the phone. This caused problems with the phone trying to activate, finding it couldn't complete successfully because it can't go on the $25/month plan, and the phone got stuck in "limbo" because of it. 2) There were problems when people had Radio Shack activate their Evos.

    I may be mistaken but I don't recall hearing of people in the last couple of weeks that have had activation problems. I've not heard of people having problems activating on the website (so long as they had a current plan). The only issue I remember hearing is that activation wasn't working on the website one weekend, VM had it turned off for maintenance, and people were having to call in to activate their phones. Given some people's experience with VM customer support, trying to activate on the website is likely safer than activating over the phone. ;)
     
  21. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Not getting fluctuations after flashing the ZR3DX ROM.
     
  22. hemplacrosse4

    hemplacrosse4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    123
    4
    36
    Well I returned my Evo V back to Radio Shack and then went to Best Buy and got the Virgin Mobile branded Evo V. First thing I noticed that was different was the power button actually clicked as suppose to the Sprint branded one that you had to push down really hard to get the screen to turn off. The second biggest difference I notice was activing it at the store actually made it work right out of the box, it took a couple minutes and I was texting right away. Unlike when I bought my other Evo V got charged 10 bucks to attempt to swap it online then spent forty minutes with customer service just to activate my phone and then shorty after I would start getting the error 64 code all the time! So now I am a happy camper and hopefully no more errors will occur. I will keep the forum updated in case it does.
     
  23. armeN0317

    armeN0317 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    135
    60
    53
    these were not activation issues for me. I never had a virgin plan and I was getting a new number. These are definitely related to the radio software on these phones.
     
  24. raysurrx7

    raysurrx7 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    82
    14
    18
    I'm going to return mine soon, i bought an HTC Vivid and i'm switching to straight talk.
     
  25. mishmosh2000

    mishmosh2000 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011

    Oct 24, 2011
    54
    6
    16
    NE Ohio
    Did you guys get refunds on the phone promptly? I am at 2 1/2 weeks and still nothing. Customer service says they have no record of receiving the phone even though I have a tracking that says they did the first week of June. Have to go through my credit card next!

    I went with the Razr Maxx and Verizon too and it is a sweet setup!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...