• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root I want to root but Im a noob can anyone help me wit my questions

doobster

Lurker
Feb 9, 2011
Im a new android user i have a desire HD which is about 5 weeks old can anyone pls help me what the advantage and disadvantage of rooting then can I put back my phone back to factory settings if I wish to. Please tell me if there really is a huge advantage in rooting your phone coz ive seen threads from other sites that there's not much in rooting I really need help i dont want to end up bricking my phone hahaha, so you guys could say Im a super noob pls be patient wit me i dont even know what the ROM is used for or can u suggest me to website which can "accurately" explain me this things... but i guess I am in the right website hehehe. thank you in advance guys

Taken from my rooting faq (which is specific for the desire, but Ive removed some parts and added some)

As I myself do not have a DHD, please all feel free to contribute to this. Particular lacking information is regarding S-off for DHD.

What is rooting?

Rooting is the process of gaining root access to Android. Android is based on the Linux operating system. Root access is superuser permissions (SU), much like an Administrator in Windows.

OK Great, but what does it get me?

Well, it gives you more control over your phone essentially. You can run full backup of your entire phone, control how the CPU is used by Android, save internal memory to name but a few.

What is recovery?

When you turn on your phone, the phone's bootloader loads 1 of 2 things. Android or recovery. If you use ROM manager, you can load a custom recovery instead of the HTC standard one.

Whats it for?

Booting into the custom recovery gives you the ability to flash custom roms, take backups, clear data etc.

How do I get to recovery?