1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

I was grandfathered in on unlimited data

Discussion in 'Verizon' started by HotPepper, Mar 11, 2013.

  1. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Verizon doesn't allow non-Verizon phones on their network.
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    if you buy them off ebay make sure they are for verizon and they work
     
  3. AntimonyER

    AntimonyER CHANGED FROM AF ADDICT MIKESTONY
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    13,644
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    13,644
    8,004
    1,343
    Statesboro, GA
    Specifically requested the IMEI prior to paying and call up Verizon and check that it is clear.
     
  4. shadowspawn

    shadowspawn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    65
    11
    18
    That's what most Verizon dealers here do honestly. Corporate doesn't want us doing that though since it's a very gray area and we need to avoid gray areas due to the huge amount of fraud we got hit with last year. What I usually convince people to do is to add a person to their account, whether it be a basic or smartphone, and alternate upgrade using the new line to keep the unlimited. It looks a lot better on paper and it helps someone else they are friendly with save money.

    @tambourine: Yes. Doing a simple ESN change will not have any effect on your plan whatsoever. Yes it does have to have a Verizon ESN. Yes you can buy one from ebay so long as the ESN is clean. No you cannot use your Sprint GS3 on Verizon unless you flash it over.
     
  5. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,066
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I guess I'm in the minority here as far as just paying full retail from now on. I have 4 lines, $9.99/month per line for unlimited data. The 2 kids can buy their own phones; that leaves just me & the Darling Bride, getting a new phone in alternating years. Anything else I do will cost me more money per month :)
     
  6. jj2me

    jj2me Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    161
    29
    43
    What is a "single tiered data plan?" I've been looking on Verizon and came up empty, though I didn't go forward and click where it asks me to change existing plan.

    From Googling it seems it might be to
    - keep your existing voice plan (like 450 minutes for $40), and
    - trade in your unlimited data plan for a 2GB (or whatever tier you select) data plan.
     
  7. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    That is correct. You would get your own tiered plan as opposed to a shared data plan that you share the data across all the lines. Only you would count towards that individual tier.
     
    jj2me likes this.
  8. TinCanFury

    TinCanFury Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    36
    11
    38
    Male
    Engineer
    Boston, MA
    sorry to bring back this thread from the dead, but I have a twist on the question...

    If I use one of the lines for a dumb phone on my account to upgrade, can the upgrade on my line be used by that person without affecting my line's unlimited plan, if that phone decides to get a smartphone?

    thanks!
     
  9. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    No, as soon as you upgrade on the line that has the unlimited, they take it away.
     
    AntimonyER likes this.
  10. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,066
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Yeah, we folks who are on unlimited data at Verizon have one option for new phones, and that is to pay full retail price for them. I started a new phone savings account shortly after getting my Nexus, and have enough for a phone... just waiting for the right one to come out.

    Other than change providers or lose unlimited, that's the only option :eek:
     
  11. TinCanFury

    TinCanFury Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    36
    11
    38
    Male
    Engineer
    Boston, MA
    wait, so does the using a dumb phone line to upgrade phones and switching to keep the unlimited plan no longer work?
     
  12. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    It should still work, I haven't heard anything to the contrary. Although don't be surprised if you meet resistance trying to do so. It is their agenda to get everyone off of an unlimited plan after all. Though most people tend to be successful on their first try.
     
  13. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,066
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    It is my understanding that any line that gets a smartphone has to have a data plan, and they would put that line on a shared plan. If you can convince them, though, to let you put a smartphone on the dumb-phone line and then swap the device out to the smartphone line without their throwing you into shared data, good on ya :)

    Good luck and let us know how it works for you!
     
  14. curtisdr

    curtisdr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    144
    4
    36
    I have a single line on unlimited. Is it possible to add another line to my account without switching the unlimited line to one of the new plans? I thought I tried this and I wasn't able to.
     
  15. rawness

    rawness Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    398
    21
    58
    A lot of good information in here.

    Including my line, there are 3 smartphone lines and one dumbphone on my plan. My line is the only one to still have unlimited data (I definitely need it). It sounds like I should be able to upgrade one of the other smartphone lines and then just transfer it to my number and I'd get a new, subsidized, phone and keep my unlimited data...correct?

    Does it matter who's line is eligible for the upgrade? In the past we'd use each other's upgrade depending on who needed a new phone at any particular time and Verizon didn't care....will they care now that unlimited data is involved?
     

Share This Page

Loading...