1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General I5700 Galaxy Spica/lite officially gets Android 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by svkndv, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. Zargon

    Zargon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    51
    2
    16
    If that's true, it's mental.

    I've only manually updated one phone before now (SE K800i) - I'm not some sort of phone geek.

    That said, I've now flashed my i5700 a few times (testing different flavours of 2.), and it's so, so much simpler than the SE800i (which really wasn't too hard for anybody vaguely tech-savvy).

    In short, if you're the sort of person bothered by 1.5 vs 2.1, the update process (using Odin) is incredibly simple.

    Why Samsung or T-Mobile (assuming the above is true) can't build an end-user version of Odin, I have no idea...
     

    Advertisement

  2. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    I've just put a voda phone sim card and it asked for a network code so it looks like I'm going to have to wait
     
  3. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    I updated my T-Mobile.UK Portal from 1.5 to 2.1 with no problems. Done it twice now, both with later firmwares.

    Enter *#7465625#
    into your phone.

    I get
    Network Lock
    [ON]
    Network Subset Lock
    [OFF]
    SP Lock
    [OFF]
    CP Lock
    [OFF]
     
  4. sirnose66

    sirnose66 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    8
    1
    26
    Leicestershire
    So do I - what does this tell me? That I should be able to flash firmware without problem?
     
  5. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    N.B. If you ARE going to do a firmware update, backup or sync your contacts calander etc.

    Then perform a harware reset.

    From Home Screen
    Menu
    Settings
    Privacy
    Factory Data Reset

    Enter

    Or from phone pad, enter,

    *2767*3855#
     
  6. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    Well, I can PM you the i570EXXJD1 firmware link, and you can try yourself.
     
    sirnose66 likes this.
  7. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    you can tell the t mobile twitter are full of it because they tell every body the same thing

    this is for the g2
    Hi there, the G2 is due an update shortly. As soon as we have more info we will tweet. Have a nice day

    i got the same reply with the portal


    could you get a galaxy i7500 from t mobile if you could how comes you can update the firmware with nps and you cant with the portal
     
  8. kingdave

    kingdave Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    435
    14
    38
    Project Manager
    Manchester
    Will a firmware update remove the network lock? Or will a factory reset do it?

    Or change any of the "personilatiob status"as my phone so correctly puts it?
     
  9. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    120
    8
    36
    The network lock isn't affected by a factory reset or flashing the F/W.

    Mine has SP lock enabled & I flashed it OK.
     
  10. urbanlegend

    urbanlegend Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I am from Bangalore,India. Got mine upgraded to Eclair( 2.1) from the service centre here.:D:D:D today
     
  11. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    I think there is confusion over SIM lock and Network locked.

    From Main Home Screen,
    Menu
    Settings
    Location & Security Settings
    Scroll down until you see
    Set up SIM card Lock
    Go into that, and you'll see
    Lock SIM Card.

    Ensure this is disabled BEFORE factory resetting your phone.
    You can then flash your phone.

    Firmware flashing does NOT remove Network Lock. See my post earlier above, where after flashing Network Lock was still [ON].

    A couple of people have already taken the UK/EURO Firmware I used.

    Link available via PM
     
  12. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    had this from samsung

    Good Afternoon

    The German update has been successful and we a scheduled to get ours soon.
    One of the main differences and problems is that in Germany they already have an established home update service. This allowed for the update to be put out very quickly. Also in Germany the handset has only been released for sim free handsets.
    I have no information at this time about Norway & the Phillipines I am afraid.


    Because of the lack of a home update service and the difficulties of network branding our update is not yet available. There is no official date we can give you at this time, I know it is frustrating but really all we can advise is to keep checking the website and forums.



    The engineers at local authorised centres can not update to 1.6 /2.1 yet.
     
  13. sipart

    sipart Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    57
    4
    36
    UK
    Phew, this is getting very annoying. I called T-Mobile UK after reading the got-petrol Samsung update and after a bit of pushing for an ETA (got the normal "we are working on this right now and will notify users as soon as we have this fixed, we are updating our systems to complete this update" blah blah blah). The guy finally said that the issue will be fixed in 7 days....ho ho...I'm sure this is the 'last resort scripted response to get rid of customers' line as I can't quite understand how you can start with the first response and when pressed miraculously know it will be fixed in 7 days!?

    I would advise anyone who doesn't mind wasting a few mins to call T-Mobile to see if this response is genuine and repeated.

    Cheers
     
  14. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    what number did you call....im going to wait to the end of may then odin my phone
     
  15. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    I'd love to know how they intend to notify users.

    Text message, phone call, letter, knock on the door?
     
  16. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    a kick up the ar$e
     
  17. kingdave

    kingdave Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    435
    14
    38
    Project Manager
    Manchester
    I like that Samsung and T-Mobile keep telling me/us to keep checking their websites and forums.

    The Samsung Mobile site for the UK hasn't had its news updated since November. There is little activity on their forums, and T-Mobile's forums are not much better.

    How are they going to issue the news through mediums they barely use themselves?

    If I Odin my phone now, will I be able to update it to official firmware once T-Mobile/Samsung get their arses in gear?
     
  18. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk

    if you mean still going through nps to update after using odin i have read some where you cant but if the same version get leaked you will be able to do it with odin.
     
  19. kingdave

    kingdave Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    435
    14
    38
    Project Manager
    Manchester
    Right, I migt hold off then and do the same as you -wait until the end of May and see what comes out officially.

    Does anyone know if it will matter what version of NPS you have to use? I can't get the CD version to work at all, but had good success with 1.5 I think it is. Will it matter?
     
  20. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    I have noticed that when samsung has released the update they put a different build of nps to use
     
  21. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    I honestly think the Android 2.1 version T-Mobile.UK will release will be behind the current (as of today) Android version. Reason being T-Mobile need time to check and learn the version they will be releasing to the masses.

    Going by the way most other devices update their firmware's, what you'll find is that T-Mobile's Firmware, when released, will be copied and made available via the internet from somewhere, thereby allowing you to upgrade/downgrade to this Official version yourself.

    And when 2.2 is tested and released, you'll be able to update to that too. Which I believe will also be a later 2.2 version than the Official 2.2. T-Mobile release.

    Unfortunately, it's all a game of catchup.

    As soon as Google release Android updates, Samsung and other manufacturers must then re-compile these for their own hardware. Then in turn, release these to Providers, who then test these themselves.

    If Google release a later firmware, even if that's within a few version No's or even a few days later, Samsung and other manufacturers will then have to take more time before releasing to your provider and you get the updates.

    Therefore, the last in line is you.

    So if you're excited about getting an Official Firmware from an approx Feb or March release of Android 2.1, from your provider, expect it to be behind what's already available. e.g. the April update that already exists.

    However, this will all feel a bit of a let down when you see that Froyo 2.2 supporting Flash 10.1, pinch etc, is nearing release from Google to Manufacturers?

    That's when the catch-up circus begins all over again.
     
  22. sipart

    sipart Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    57
    4
    36
    UK
    Sorry forgot to mention - 150 from my mobile - went for the anything else option(s).

    Also going to follow the crowd and update via Odin at the end of the month :D
     
  23. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    phoned t mobile 150 and there's an option to to be put through tech suport I asked then about the samsung portal update they said they didn't no there was a software update out and he sent a email to the department that deals with software updates for the phone and some thing will be put on the t mobile help and suport about updating the portal

    I'm going to phone them Monday to see if any thing has happend
     
  24. kingdave

    kingdave Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    435
    14
    38
    Project Manager
    Manchester
    I find this amazing! The Twitter people clearly know about the update, Samsung obviously know about the update, but T-Mobile Tech Support don't?

    What hope is there if none of the relevant parties are talking to each other.

    Keep us posted on what they say on Monday
     
  25. Zargon

    Zargon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    51
    2
    16
    You're nuts.

    You think the people in these places are some sort of phone-obsessed techno-wizards?! No. They're just people in a call-centre, with a database and a team-leader.

    You people amaze me. You try to see conspiracy where there is none about some software for a mobile phone!!!

    Not only that, but THERE IS ALREADY A SOLUTION whereby you take 0 minutes to update the phone yourself as I did weeks ago.

    Good lord.

    :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...