1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General I5700 Galaxy Spica/lite officially gets Android 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by svkndv, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    all this is harder then i thought it was i havnt got a clue where to start ive read the guides and i still dont no how to do it
     

    Advertisement

  2. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    120
    8
    36
  3. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
  4. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    120
    8
    36
    I'm running I570EXXJCE
     
  5. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    I've found the later i570EXXJD4 faster than I570EXXJCE. Although I tried the most recent May 2010 i570EXXJE1 firmware, but switched back to JD4 for stability issues.

    Remember all these firmwares are experimental, work in progress. So there will be issues.
     
  6. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    120
    8
    36
    I tried i570EXXJD1 but had issues with the phone loosing the network.

    It would be nice to have live wallpapers though!
     
  7. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    im now running 2.1 thanks to Beerkan the reason i used odin is because t mobile dont no if they are going to release it yet
     
  8. bburn

    bburn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    9
    1
    6
    T-mobile's inability to update UK i5700's is embarrassing. They really don't seem to know how to roll out a new firmware update across an android phone platform. The fact they have never been able to give any honest, consistent or reliable information about how or when the firmware update will arrive only highlights their "take the money and run" attitude to their customers.

    If I were being awkward I would suggest the angle of attack of pointing out to T Mobile that the phone with it's current 1.5 firmware is unable to use bluetooth file transfers and as such could be argued in it's current state ,sold under misleading advertising.

    I wish I lived near their head office , I'd go and hand back their buggy phone personally.
     
  9. Megs

    Megs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    115
    10
    58
    Canuck
    @got-petrol: I also used Beerkan's firmware and then modded mine further with the Samdroid version. Its up on Samdroid.net's forums.
     
  10. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    I'm glad it went well but the pages on the net load in small
     
  11. AlexWK

    AlexWK Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Here in Hungary, Samsung has told me that the 2.1 update is available but can only be updated at the service center. The service center said the update will take a few days... pfff. When can I go without my phone for a few days? I will probably take it in in a week or two, and then I will let you know how it went. Carrier-free phone by the way.
     
  12. kingdave

    kingdave Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    435
    14
    38
    Project Manager
    Manchester
    Double tap to zoom
     
  13. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    120
    8
    36
    Try Dolphin browser.
     
  14. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    got it sorted out now thanks
     
  15. crypticmiss

    crypticmiss Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    How come they skipped even 1.6 on tmobile cos my hubby had that on his G1 ages ago. The google sat nav only works with 1.6 up so I really feel stitched up. I did say to them about being sold bluetooth under false pretences as can't use file transfer and they said it was advertised with 'standard bluetooth' to which I said that that means nothing to most people and these are 'smart phones' so how come they don't have the basics that my old 'non smartphone' had?
     
  16. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    It's not difficult to update to 2.1. You can wait for your provider to provide the update, or you can download a 2.1 firmware and the Odin PC Software to patch it to your phone.

    It's your choice.
     
  17. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    removed nps 1.5 off my windows 7 pc but kept nps 1.3 on my doughters xp laptop incase there is a way to update officialy when t mobile get round to do release it and if they think it works on there network
     
  18. crypticmiss

    crypticmiss Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    and how does that work on a MAC computer?
     
  19. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    don't you no anyone with a windows Pc or a laptop
     
  20. crypticmiss

    crypticmiss Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Why should I have to? Android os should not need to deal with microsoft. If I wanted to use microsoft I could have chosen a non Android phone. Why do we have to rely on microsoft for everything?
     
  21. urbanlegend

    urbanlegend Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Hi all,
    My phone (GT - I5700) Galaxy spica does not seem to be detected by Kies.Its been updated to 2.1. My phone name does show up in the top right hand corner of KIES, but i cannot access my phone book , nor my messages or anything else. I can just see data inside my SD Card. can you tell me where i am going wrong and assist me.
     
  22. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    Have you enabled USB Debugging?

    Menu
    Settings
    Applications
    Development
    USB Debugging [x]

    This should let you edit phone details etc.

    You can also, from your PC log into your GMail account and edit them there. (sync after from your phone to upload changes.)
     
    urbanlegend likes this.
  23. andrius

    andrius Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Is there ANY limitations when updating via Odin? Any annoying bugs? Or real threats in bricking your device?
     
  24. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    when I did mine the first time Odin did nothing so I was told by beerkan to shut evey thing down...on the second time Odin uploaded my phone to 2.1..it only took 3 mins and 2 mins for the phone to reboot
     
  25. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    120
    8
    36
    That's my experience too!
     

Share This Page

Loading...