1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

i9300 + CWM 6.0.4.6 + Archidroid 3.1.5 - Sudden bricked 'Can't mount /cache/...'

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by velocitykendal, Jan 24, 2016.

1. velocitykendal

Hi, firstly I'll say I'm a bit new to this. I've done some searching around trying to find out how I can troubleshoot this problem but I keep getting a lot of seemingly unrelated or contradictory information and I'm left somewhat confused so I thought I'd start a thread of my own...

I just attempted my first flashing of a custom ROM on my GT-i9300. I managed to flash the recovery using Odin then install Archidroid from the external SD, all seemed to be going well. It's been running mostly o.k. for a about 3-4 days then this morning I awoke to the phone stuck on the Archidroid boot screen. I tried to reboot with the power button but it wouldn't go further than the Samsung logo after that. Rebooting to CWM showed an error:

E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/command
    E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
    E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log
    E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
    E:Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log
    E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_install
    E:Can't open /cache/recovery/last_install

I can't seem to do anything in CWM without it failing. I've tried re-flashing the Archidroid ROM and I've tried re-flashing CWM via Odin, both failed. I'm now a bit stuck as to what to try next, can anyone help?

TIA.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Jfalls63

Jfalls63 Android Expert

You might try a different recovery. TWRP works well with most S3.

https://dl.twrp.me/i9300/
    Download the tar file from close to the top and flash with Odin.

What was the error message the last time you tried to flash CWM with Odin?

3. velocitykendal

Hi, thanks for your reply. I tried TWRP also and got the same fail in Odin:

4. Jfalls63

Jfalls63 Android Expert

5. velocitykendal