1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Ice Cream Sandwich available through Kies

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by S Chonson, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. S Chonson

    S Chonson Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    67
    11
    18
    Just updated my firmware through Kies and BOOM Ice Cream Sandwich is on my Galaxy S2 i777. :)

    BTW my phone has never been rooted.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dgreening

    dgreening Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    8
    1
    6
    Male
    Texas
    I read your post and decided to connect to Kies - and for the first time I actually have an update available. I am hoping for the same result - ICS. I will update the post when it has completed the update but I am getting excited.

    After it sitting on 55% for over an hour I finally removed it and started the emergency restore but it upgraded my S2 to ICS anyway.
     
    FlyingPigL likes this.
  3. chaotic_zx

    chaotic_zx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    4
    3
    6
    Updated my phone through Kies. It updated to 4.0.3. :D
     
    j510 and FlyingPigL like this.
  4. angel71rs

    angel71rs Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    33
    12
    38
    TX
    Will be monitoring thread to see if it does better than the problematic 2.3.6. Thanks to all taking the plunge, hope it goes well for you.
     
  5. th3goob

    th3goob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    185
    13
    38
    Nanty Glo, PA
    my little brothers galaxy s2 says this device doesnt support being upgraded via kies.
     
  6. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
     #98
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,591
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    273
    California
    I'm jealous
     
  7. jimmylavino

    jimmylavino Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    8
    1
    6
    I opened up Kies and dont see any update. Where would it be shown?
     
  8. hobobanana

    hobobanana Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Got an i777 but Kies says I have the latest firmware. Anyone got a work around for this?
     
  9. Edge1978

    Edge1978 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    65
    6
    36
    Male
    I wonder if it was removed. Because I see a few posts on different forums about the update not being there. I updated mine about 7:30-8pm EST
     
  10. sircolby45

    sircolby45 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    92
    5
    16
    Mine shows that I have the latest firmware in Kies as well as when I do an OTA check.
     
  11. wolfyboy359

    wolfyboy359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    198
    23
    38
    indy
    mine says ota there's an update but the servers are busy. trying kies....

    keys is updating.

    ooh i was so excited i misspelled kies. No update yet for me.... =(
    patiently waiting...
     
  12. TwinSac

    TwinSac Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    28
    4
    36
    Male
    Math Teacher
    SacTown
    Im trying to figure out how to open Kies. Do I need to install it on the computer or will just plugging in the phone via USB make Kies available? I plugged in the USB and searched for Kies and didnt find anything.
     
  13. wolfyboy359

    wolfyboy359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    198
    23
    38
    indy
    you gotta download kies from samsung website. scroll all the way down and make sure software is selected.
    edit: hit see all downloads first.
     
    TwinSac likes this.
  14. FlyingPigL

    FlyingPigL Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    104
    18
    58
    Found under tools. It takes a while but it's worth it!
     
  15. FlyingPigL

    FlyingPigL Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    104
    18
    58
    so far so good. Seems to freeze, but this could also be GO launcher which I'm trying out.
    Also, from a power usage standpoint, jury is out. I was reorganizing my home pages and downloading apps, and power went down from 70% to 30% in 2 hours.
     
  16. FlyingPigL

    FlyingPigL Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    104
    18
    58
    just upgraded mine with Kies.
     
  17. th3goob

    th3goob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    185
    13
    38
    Nanty Glo, PA
    hmm, imma try one more time, but if not i have the file downloaded from samsungs website so can i just flash it via odin?
     
  18. SoxFanNH

    SoxFanNH Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    No luck here, Kies is telling me I have the latest firmware.
     
  19. hunhyung

    hunhyung Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011

    Nov 24, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Also showing that I have latest firmware... anyway around this?
     
  20. wolfyboy359

    wolfyboy359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    198
    23
    38
    indy
    i don't see anything in tools. i tried the options but none of them upgraded my phone. one wanted to reset it. looks like a false start. this sort of stuff happens.
     
  21. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,816
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,816
    28,927
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Many times the rollouts are limited by region or range of MEID/ENS numbers so the servers don't get overload with downloads. It's promising that some people are seeing the updates. I would be optimistic that everyone should be able to update by the end of the week.
     
    wolfyboy359 likes this.
  22. pkoutoul

    pkoutoul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #1,051
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    87
    11
    18
    Same here. I hope it becomes available for me later today. I saw this message on the Samsung support site:

     
  23. wolfyboy359

    wolfyboy359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    198
    23
    38
    indy
    maybe they are updating on friday for ics? maybe?
     
  24. Rockk

    Rockk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    16
    2
    16
    Miami, FL
    Says I have the latest firmware :(

    and I was so excited...
     
  25. wolfyboy359

    wolfyboy359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    198
    23
    38
    indy
    don't fret. read lunatic59's post. seems to be about right.
     
    lunatic59 and Rockk like this.

Share This Page

Loading...