1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Ice Cream Sandwich

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by onggoy21, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. onggoy21

    onggoy21 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Any chance we LG P500 users are gonna get a taste of ICS?
     

    Advertisement

  2. van_helsing_80

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    23
    2
    36
    I admire your hope, but you are missing the reality.
     
  3. vipul619

    vipul619 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

    SDK has been released.
    work has begun in XDA..
    dont expect any company upadte anytime soon..
    but a custom rom will be there surely :D
     
  4. onggoy21

    onggoy21 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I guess custom ROM is better than nothing. If a stable one is made I think I'll root my phone.
     
  5. samrox144

    samrox144 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,148
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    1,148
    276
    163
    Male
    Student
    Bangalore
    there are atleast 5 to 6 stable roms on xda for lgp500
    try it
     
  6. gymfreak7855

    gymfreak7855 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Sadly you are thinking totally unrealistically. ICS (4.0) requires atleast a 1ghz processor which the p500 only has just over half of with the ARMv6 600mhz processor. Also the p500 does not have enough ram to support ICS. Another problem that will occur is there is not enough grapics power to support the new visualisations of 4.0 so I would consider upgrading to a new phone if you are so desperate for ICS
     
  7. vipul619

    vipul619 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

    i think u didnt read d post above you.
    ICS IS ALREADY OUT FOR P500..
    check XDA!!! :rolleyes:
     
  8. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,087
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    3,087
    1,568
    313
    Studying
    Qu
    Please be polite, whatever the disagreement might be.

    You should also provide a link, I don't think ICS is available for the Optimus One. Unless you're talking about Gingerbread roms themed to look like ICS. ;)
     
  9. vipul619

    vipul619 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

  10. cartch

    cartch Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012

    Jan 19, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    an alpha of ics has been realeased for the p500 (nothing is unrealistic) it works verry well and has some verry good compliments for bein an alpha. as i am a "new member" i cant give the link yet but i will try to give it 2 u asap the name of the tthread is
    [UNOFFICIAL][DEV/GEEKS-ONLY] Cyanogenmod 9 (Android 4.0.3)[ALPHA1]
    litterally this rom is being updated daily jst 2 days ago touch and gsm didnt work now both are working :D
     
  11. Lelouch

    Lelouch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    655
    70
    98
    Kri
    You meant this link

    The GSM isn't working for some. Specifically for those using SIM with PIN (have it installed and no signal). Also you must have new baseband, so that's a no go for old baseband users.
    And to why is that? Cause Cyanogen-mod officially supports new baseband only.

    What' working in alpha 1?


    • Full HWAcceleration (no 3D yet)
    • Bluetooth
    • 3D gallery
    • Sensors
    • Electron Beam OFF
    • GPS(????)
    • GSM (for some - no data yet)
    • TOUCHSCREEN
    • Screenshots
    Audio is fixed now, JIT also so next release will be more fun.

    Take a note that this ROM isn't for a daily use, only to see things to come. Btw. you can play 2D games.
     
  12. vipul619

    vipul619 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

    alpha 2 is out and it has some bug fixes, u can try that
     
  13. Lelouch

    Lelouch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    655
    70
    98
    Kri
    Down side is a battery drain, better to say - the phone doesn't go to deep sleep. So your battery gets drained in less than a day (doesn't matter if you use the unit or not).

    Also no 3G data yet nor Wi-Fi (you will need to use static IP address), but as you should have guessed this ROM is still alpha phase and also for devs/geeks only.
     
  14. starrscreem

    starrscreem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    [​IMG]

    this is a screenshot of my mobile and
    i Haven't encounterd any big issues till now only a few bugs but apart from that this is a fully functional ROM

    Check out XDA to support the dev.
     
  15. vipul619

    vipul619 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

    official UNofficial ICS thread here :p
    XDA
     
    keyurthakkar likes this.
  16. theo1358

    theo1358 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    A new ROM by the same developer is out. It's based on CM9 and it's a lot more stable.

    Download here:
    forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1558213
     
  17. vipul619

    vipul619 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

    its the same ROM.
    Just a newer version with color banding fixed, camera partially fixed and a cleaner thread (not for long though) :p
     
  18. TheParadox

    TheParadox Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    57
    4
    16
    Quilon
  19. The CRT GT3

    The CRT GT3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    Sadly, p500 specs is too weak to support ICS. U should buy a new phone now to get a ICS.
    P500 graphics is too weak. RAM and processor is not power enough.
     
  20. TheParadox

    TheParadox Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    57
    4
    16
    Quilon
    ^ Dude , If you don't know about something , Don't talk about it :| Try visiting XDA Developers. .There are hundreds of ICS roms for Optimus One .Even I am on MIUI 2.8 ( Android 4.0.0) by Kaio Ken. I play a lot of games. Its really stable . No performance issues.
     

Share This Page

Loading...