1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Ice Cream Sandwich

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SuperKitch, Jan 14, 2012.

1. SuperKitch

SuperKitch Member
    None

Nov 17, 2011
    Police Officer
    LONDON, UK
    :thinking::thinking::thinking: I have been looking into Rooting my Sensation (which I am still unsure on.....the whole bricking aspect worries me) Whilst doing some online research, I have come across the Ice Cream Sandwich, I am aware that its a new update and will be rolled out to all devices between now and somewhere in 2020..... but I have also seen hints about being able to "force" your device to run on the sandwhich system, is this by rooting?

I was wondering if anyone is running the sandwhich system, and if so, can you tell me what its like?

I am still fairly new to the android world, so am very N00by so I do apologise!!

Hopfully then I may be able to make my mind up about Rooting!!

Thanks

Advertisement

2. El Presidente

El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!

Jan 3, 2011
    Scotland
    Hey Kitch, I've moved your query to the root subforum, it's probably more relevant there.

There is an ICS ROM available for the Sensation here: http://androidforums.com/sensation-all-things-root/468376-ics-rom-sensation.html

You would need root to install that though. I'm not entirely sure what it's like, but I know they've not been able to get the camera working on the ICS ports available on other HTC handsets.

SuperKitch likes this.
  3. KTW

KTW Guest
    None
    considering the risks i wouldent. So what i may not have supper controle like getting a few other apps to work but for what its worth i would avoid rooting and you would still have the htc customer care on your side to if you dont root. On your side im refering to the fact that your phone will still have worenty and they will be willing to help.
    If the phone works then why do anything else ?

(i cant speak for you but this is my opinion)

4. mbatson89