1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Iconia A500...visible grid??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xraychick01, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. xraychick01

    xraychick01 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    87
    1
    16
    I'm very much thinking about getting the A500. The only thing holding me back is some mention online of people being able to see the grid on the screen and that being bothersome to them. Anyone here experience this??
     

    Advertisement

  2. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    I bought one from BB this morning and have not noticed one and am very sensitive to this if visible (do not want it).

    The display easily is better than the Xoom (which is good) and seems as good as the iPad (I compared them all in store). I am going to do a mini-review this evening.

    So far, the build, USB host, display and speed ROCK! :) I have had a modded gTablet since November and this puppy out of box, blows the modded gTablet away. Nice to have USB host that actually works all the time (so far) rather than randomly like on the gTablet. 64gb thumbdrive works great :)

    I can not stress enough how good the build is. Speakers also sound great once you change the Dolby settings. A review I read said the speakers were weak, but they apparently did not bother to adjust the output in the settings.
     
    kampfwolf09 and xraychick01 like this.
  3. dudeofrude

    dudeofrude Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    58
    5
    16
    I've been using mine for a week now and the only time I've noticed it is when the screen is blank? Its definately not a noticable problem while in use :)
     
    xraychick01 likes this.
  4. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    590
    201
    113
    Bay Area, ca
    The "dots" help increase sensitivty and touch accuracy. HTC uses the same thing on all their super LCD equipped phones. You can only see it when a light is shining directly on the tablet when the screen is shut off
     
  5. xraychick01

    xraychick01 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    87
    1
    16
    Great! I can handle the grid when the computer is off. This is sounding good...I'm getting closer to purchasing one for myself! Thanks!
     
    DXHULK likes this.
  6. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    After more testing, I can not see anything except a great display. Sadly, I can not get Flash to work, so will return to BB tomorrow, unless it suddenly starts working.
     
  7. dornier

    dornier Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    87
    4
    16
    Did you install flash from the market place? Flash is working great on my A500. You may have to perform a hard reset?
     
  8. EuclidsBrother

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    24
    0
    35
    I had to install flash 10.2 player from the market place to get flash to work.

    I can see the "dots" on mine only when it's reflecting sunlight directly to my eyes, but then the screen is glared anyway, so it doesn't really matter.
     
  9. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    It works fine with stock browser, but hit & miss with Dolphin.

    The grid can only be seen (to me) when the screen is off. The good thing is the display has great touch response to me.
     
  10. Wonder Strike

    Wonder Strike Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    32
    7
    16
    Swindon, UK
    I had a grid, but only when you switch it on and it is still blank for a bit.
     
  11. xraychick01

    xraychick01 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    87
    1
    16
    Well, I ordered mine last night! I can't wait to get it!! :D
     
  12. GeekClass

    GeekClass Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    121
    16
    58
    Tennessee
    There's definitely a grid. I haven't noticed it on any of my homescreens, when browsing, playing around in apps, etc, but when rebooting in a lighted area like Wonder Strike, I saw a grid (which wasn't a problem since it disappeared when the homescreen came up). But I also noticed it when playing an old xvid/avi in the dark (Chappelle special from 2004), the background had visible lines on it and at extreme angles, you could see the straight grids making a square shape. Haven't tried anything higher than standard def though and I haven't noticed it on youtube vids.

    Basically it hasn't really been a big problem, but I'm going to watch a lot more vids to make sure it stays that way before my 14 days are up.
     
  13. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    I can see the grid only when off....no buggies


    As.for flash...install flaah from the market. Whatever was included was some type of light version. After installing the market version I have had no issues.


    Currently looking for a good video player ....my go to players don't seem to work
     
  14. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    I take it back..the more I am outside with this thing the more that grid is bugging me..

    it's an issue in any brightly lit situation :(
     
  15. michaelg1030

    michaelg1030 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    6
    16

    Do you have a screen protector? I'm thinking the zagg would help this since it cuts down I glare. I should be picking one up this week.
     
  16. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    .......... Didn't Metallica have a song called Visible Grid? Oh, it was Invisible Kid! Nevermind ;)
     
  17. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    No screen protector
     
  18. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    I only see it when off. When the LCD is on, I do not see it, even with blacks. That said, the number of people complaining about display bleed and other issues seems more common with the Transformer. Interesting that iPad 2 is having issues with IPS displays too. I wonder if the increased demand on IPS displays has compromised quality control?
     
  19. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    I don't think it is quality as much as it design...though much less noticeable...the s7 has a visible grid as well
     
  20. splatoid

    splatoid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    630
    83
    78
    Repair Technician for Grocery stores Auto meat wra
    Washington State
    I was able to see it today when it was on but that was with the sun hitting thwe screen just right it made the grid glow. Kinda cool really.
     

Share This Page

Loading...