1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General ICS/Automatic Radio Turnoff

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ISASoilder, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. ISASoilder

    ISASoilder Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    213
    26
    43
    College, Work
    Washington D.C
    Hey, im sort of puzzled on this when, it seams that every time I wake up (morning) or have left my phone sleep an inactive for and extended period of time I lose all service expect for wifi if i had it on, after i begin to use the phone (sometimes have to toggle airplane mode) my bars come back and service is restored. So my question is this a battery saving technique built into ICS, or is just the network going in and out the signal radio getting stuck between hand offs to 4g/3g or vice versa.

    Im in an extended 4G area with Full bars when I have service.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    hmmm...my guess would be it is stuck with handoffs. i am in a 2bar 4g area and i never have this issue.

    i am on the 4.0.4 radios though.

    you dont have juice defender installed or anything do you?

    i would probably talk to verizon and see if they can get you a new SIM card (wont cost anything) because i had similar issues with my thunderbolt and a new sim fixed it.
     
  3. Ciggy

    Ciggy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    210
    24
    38
    Never had this type of problem I would definitely bring it in to support could even be a bad decie with bad radio hardware. It should'nt hang up, especially when not being used.
     
  4. ISASoilder

    ISASoilder Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    213
    26
    43
    College, Work
    Washington D.C
    Thanks for the feedback im thinking about just wiping it with a factory restart then slapping a ROM on it (after i back it up on my laptop first) id hate to risk getting a used one in exchange for my new one if it comes to replacing the phone.
     
  5. Sleek2G

    Sleek2G Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    Register Representative
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm having the same issue. I can leave the phone without use for a little while and when I turn it on I have no signal. I have to do the same that the OP does and toggle airplane mode on and off. Might just have to flash a different radio, if that fails I guess I will have to restore it to stock and take it in for a SIM card replacement.
     
  6. ISASoilder

    ISASoilder Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    213
    26
    43
    College, Work
    Washington D.C
    Yea its very annoying when that happens but oddly since ive gone back to school and in a better signal area i havent lost any connection after its been sitting for awhile but yea we really need that firmware update ASAP
     
  7. ckelly33

    ckelly33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    808
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    808
    146
    93
    CRNA
    Tennessee
    I got a replacement a few days ago because of this. When I would try to dial out I would get an error message "No mobile network available". There were no 'bars' to my signal indicator, just a grey triangle. Pulling the battery/power cycling would fix it but it would go back pretty soon thereafter. My new phone has done it once. It made me wonder if it might be the SIM card. Hasn't happened since though.
     
  8. Sandroidfan

    Sandroidfan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    2,150
    483
    163
    Male
    Engineer
    Central TX
    Mine used to often get grey signal bars shortly after phone calls. then it turns to blue bars in about 10~15 seconds. It's still connected to data as long as it has 3G or 4G icon on it.

    It's probably not the same issue discussed here. But after checking the "home only" in system select setting (default is automatic), it seems to turn to blue bars much quicker after calls and 3G/4G switching is faster too. It feels like radios are acting quicker. So you may try this and see if it helps.
     
  9. PKayy

    PKayy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    51
    2
    16
    Near Albany, NY
    Anyone know if changing the SIM card actually works... I'm having dropped calls, "no mobile network" and no data quite often and it's getting quite annoying.


     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...