1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support ICS desktop is different than others!?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by oceann, May 7, 2012.

  1. oceann

    oceann Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    Hi everyone,
    As most of the ICS users having some problems, I have also a tiny problem with this version.
    I upgraded to ICS yesterday, and started using.
    Today I had some problems I will mention about them next time.
    First thing I have to ask is: did I upgraded to wrong version or something?
    I m asking this since: as I attached: my screen and interface is different than normal ICS version's interface.
    I upgraded using kies legally, there was a warning about new version of android, then I accepted to upgrade my phone.

    As you see in attached picture: at the below:there are only three icons: contacts, messaging and home. However, as I see from ICS interfaces, there are 5 icons!
    Help me, did I installed wrong by mistake, although there were no errors while upgrading.
    Help me :/
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. matttye

    matttye Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,939
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    1,939
    379
    163
    Senior Legal Secretary
    Lincoln, England
    Just long press on your app icons and drag them down to the bottom row if you want the shortcuts down there.
     
  3. oceann

    oceann Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    I tried that but there appears "remove" when i select and drop an application to take it at the bottom as an icon as you said. I also searched all settings but found nothing..:(
    I wonder also if anyone else come across with a screen like this 3 icon? Did i install something wrong?
    Btw my detailed info: ics4.0.3 I9100xxlps
     
  4. arrow201

    arrow201 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    50
    1
    16
    Toronto
    You have to drag down via "Applications" not your home desktop. i don't
    know about 5 icons for stock ICS ...mine still allows only 4 max
     
  5. oceann

    oceann Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    I tried that one too. Get into applications. Select one and drop down to set as icon there appears 'remove' again or i can put down on to screens as usual.
    What i could not do is setting as an icon at the bottom.
    Before ics there were normally 4 icon. But after updating to ics icon number decreased to 3;((
     
  6. oceann

    oceann Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    No one can help? :(
     
  7. matttye

    matttye Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,939
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    1,939
    379
    163
    Senior Legal Secretary
    Lincoln, England
    Can you not drop the icons just above where it says remove?
     
  8. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,158
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,158
    35,772
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Were you using a custom launcher prior to the update? It may still be using it, which would account for the differences.
     
  9. Beanz08

    Beanz08 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012

    Apr 7, 2012
    15
    2
    16
    Go to Applications, press the Menu button and choose Edit.
    Move your icons from there.
     
    oceann likes this.
  10. oceann

    oceann Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    Beanz08 thank youu I did it! At least i got back my icons! :)
    One more question i have to ask, there is an application called "apex launcher" seems like Ics interface as also I saw on google search.(can you just have a look that applications visual on the market?)
    Shouldn't my interface seen like that?
    Can you just look at my first messsage picture attached. The interface visual is like old android not like ICS seen at apex launcher. Or do I have incorrect opinion about Ice cream sandwich desktop visual? Mine is old ginger interface i guess or ics?
     
  11. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    All Samsung handsets use the TouchWiz overlay, which is why it looks similar to your "old" version and not like stock Android 4.0.x as seen on the Galaxy Nexus.

    Apex is a third-party launcher which imitates the stock ICS launcher.
     
    oceann likes this.
  12. oceann

    oceann Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    Oh I got it at least:) thanks a lot.
    Btw: here are some problem with ics that I come across with:
    Wifi on off problem
    Freezing and have to restart 2 times until today
    Alarm icon which is on the top of the screen disappears and comes and disappears suddenly

    Im using ics for 3 days..
     

Share This Page

Loading...