1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support ICS + Skype = GREEEEEEN

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Legobricke, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. Legobricke

    Legobricke Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    232
    28
    43
    Film Buyer
    Well....

    It appears that upgrading to ICS on the Rezound will give fits to Skype...

    After upgrading, everyone I video skype receives a green video image.

    apparently, the only fix is for HTC to make a firmware change...

    Guess I will have to look at Fring!

    Anyone else have this issue?

    Lego
     

    Advertisement

  2. Corki2

    Corki2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    340
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    340
    80
    53
    Business Owner
    FL
    Actually I have. I thought I had a setting messed up . I'm glad it's not a hardware issue.
     
  3. not2gutta

    not2gutta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    93
    3
    16
    I have this issue =/

    Ics
     
  4. fatray

    fatray Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Same here green screen on the other end. I'm not 100%, but I think it was like that before ICS?
     
  5. Legobricke

    Legobricke Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    232
    28
    43
    Film Buyer
    Skype ran normal on GB.

    I use to use it all the time....

    I hope Fring or Tango are just as good if not better...
     
  6. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,509
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,509
    7,945
    1,453
    Male
    Systems Administrator
    Northern Ky
    A lot of times after a major OS upgrade you will need to uninstall, then re-install. The reason being that the apps are right now the GB version. An OS upgrade only modifies the OS, system files. The app still thinks you are running the old OS. I'd be willing to bet if you uninstall it then re-install it will completely fix your issue (unless of course skype has specific ICS issues of course)
     
  7. TrueMetalGeek

    TrueMetalGeek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    97
    5
    16
    Male
    HVAC and Electronics
    Arizona
    I don't use Skype that much. But after reading this thread I decided to try it now that I installed ICS and sure enough, the other person sees me as a green screen.

    I uninstalled and reinstalled Skype and it is still messed up.

    Also when I went to the APP store to get Skype again I noticed that most of the user ratings were 1 and 2 stars. Skype is not doing well for Android right now.
     
  8. Legobricke

    Legobricke Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    232
    28
    43
    Film Buyer
    What is funny, Skype claims the issue is with Google...

    Yet, I haven't heard of anyone else outside of the Rezound with the problem...

    Fring and Tango work fine... no GREEN issue.
     
  9. wvdavid

    wvdavid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    3
    1
    6
    I have been using Skype on my Asus Transformer Tab running ICS and there is no problem with green video. It's an issue with the Rezound.
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  10. Legobricke

    Legobricke Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    232
    28
    43
    Film Buyer
    Yeah...

    I hear ya on that... Skype claims that the Rezound is not officially cleared device, yet it work perfectly until ICS was released....

    But, that being said.... Fring and Tango work perfectly... So, it has to be something in Skype that is not happy with the drivers in the Rezound.

    Lego
     
  11. unbiasedmetal

    unbiasedmetal Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013

    Jan 29, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    My green screen is YouTube, and video player, both factory apps on the HTC Raider, cannot uninstall app, just updates. Couple games I play have the same issue as well.

    Mx player fixes this with the option to switch from hardware accelerator to software accelerator. Hardware = green screen.

    No idea how to resolve this. Has all the the tech supports I've called stumped too. (They've never heard of this issue before...)
     
  12. acejavelin

    acejavelin Android Expert
    Rank:
     #186
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    990
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    990
    308
    123
    VoIP/Telephony/IT Technician
    Bismarck, ND
    I am not familiar with this device, but does it use Ice Cream Sandwich? If so, to disable apps you have to uninstall updates then a "Disable" button should appear. Also, check the Settings-Developer Options for a setting called "Force GPU Rendering" and change the current setting and try it.
     
  13. Legobricke

    Legobricke Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    232
    28
    43
    Film Buyer
    The issue is with ICS on the Rezound....

    Yet it only caused the green screen for me in Skype...

    It is a google issue on this device.

    Now, I have installed the ICS global RUU and it and it corrected the issue for me.

    Lego
     
  14. acejavelin

    acejavelin Android Expert
    Rank:
     #186
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    990
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    990
    308
    123
    VoIP/Telephony/IT Technician
    Bismarck, ND
    Got it... at least you got it taken care of.
     
  15. unbiasedmetal

    unbiasedmetal Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013

    Jan 29, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    @acejavelin

    from what i could find out, the "raider" model does NOT use ICS, i went so far as to even disable flash player, which was futile, since the apps won't play vid's without it enabled. uninstalled all flash player updates, restarted phone, opened app, still same issue.
    performed hard reset, as well as factory reset both with auto updates and backup/restore turned OFF... still have green screen issues.

    (just this morning upgraded phone to HTC One X, it does have ICS, and no issues, flash player updated to 11)

    is it possible to install ICS onto the device if it didn't come with it from factory?
     
  16. acejavelin

    acejavelin Android Expert
    Rank:
     #186
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    990
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    990
    308
    123
    VoIP/Telephony/IT Technician
    Bismarck, ND
    Possibly, although unless there was a factory ROM of it the chances are slim. Remember to use only a ROM that is specific to your model, phones are not like PCs, the firmware/OS is VERY specific to the device. If you can find it (Google says that the Raider did have an ICS upgrade) you should be alright, but a few searches turned up nothing... :/
     
  17. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    google hangouts
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...