1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Support ICS: Transformer Shutting Off Mysteriously

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CrazySte, Feb 25, 2012.

  1. Stuntman

    Stuntman Well-Known Member
    343

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,544
    823
    343
    Vancouver, Canada
    I've noticed mine was stuck in the reboot loop twice in the past two days. Once it was undocked and another time it was docked. I going to try reinstalling Google+ to see if it had anything to do with it. Just a wild stab at this point.

    I also had 2 instances of the sound just cutting out. I only noticed it after trying to view a video and noticed there was no sound. A reboot brings the sound back.
     

    Advertisement

  2. viffer800

    viffer800 Well-Known Member
    38

    Sep 27, 2011
    103
    10
    38
    Not had the problem again since the two freezes yesterday morning
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    32,038
    26,233
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Mine seems to have settled down as well ... 24 hours without a reboot and counting.
     
  4. fldude99

    fldude99 Well-Known Member
    78

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    Mine hasn't rebooted either for a day or so.. But I continue to have problems with Gmail app..it's almost non functional in spite of resyncing a couple of times
     
  5. Podivin

    Podivin Well-Known Member
    213

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Mine rebooted, and locked on that reboot, once, the day after the update. Since then it's behaved normally. It's probably worth noting that I'm running a stock ICS ROM, not the actual OTA - though they are supposedly the same.
     
  6. Bigscout79

    Bigscout79 Member
    5

    Apr 6, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Chicago, IL
    Went away for two days, but it's back for me. Still randomly rebooting and getting stuck on asus boot screen.
     
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    32,038
    26,233
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Spoke too soon. Random reboot this afternoon with Wifi on and screen locked.
     
  8. aznbowla

    aznbowla New Member
    5

    Mar 20, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I had the same problem with my TF201. They had update within like a week. Just curious what firmware version is everyone TF101 at?

    They just released one today. Might be the fix of the issue.

    support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=20&s=16&m=Eee+Pad+Transformer+TF101&os=&hashedid=gHh4q7I8dvWJzhdV
     
  9. Bigscout79

    Bigscout79 Member
    5

    Apr 6, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks, but I think I already have that version. Their site and instructions is pretty bad and hard to read...and I should know how to read versions and what not.

    It would really helpful if one could find what it fixes and a changelog or something.
     
  10. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Well-Known Member
    38

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
    Mine appears to settle down for about a day, then plays catch up.

    I was in a board meeting today and between 8am and noon it rebooted 7 times. I would have been pissed if it lost what I typed, luckily it didn't.
     
  11. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Well-Known Member
    53

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53
    zingmaster- why didn't you return it or send to ASUS for repair??
     
  12. Zingmaster

    Zingmaster Active Member
    16

    Jun 8, 2011
    36
    4
    16
    About the time my button died, my brother was having different problems with his and he sent it to them. After 6 weeks of it being gone, he got a different referb with a crack in the screen on the bezel. He sent it back and after another 6 weeks or so he got one that wouldn't power on. Finally he got one that that worked, Sold it, and got a Samsung Galaxy 7 inch and never looked back. So after his ordeal I decided I could use my work around until it was time to upgrade. But didn't see this bricking issue coming with ICS.

    Still waiting for my battery to die. Either that or my system is entirely dead. Has anyone ever used the little reset pinhole button by the mini HDMI port? Is that even what that is?

    Edit: Nevermind. I just found out that is the mic.
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    3,118

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,378
    22,695
    3,118
    Scotland
    I'm getting a tad frustrated now, 3 times I've had the reboot whilst I've actually been using the thing.
     
  14. MassacrMan

    MassacrMan Well-Known Member
    53

    Jul 31, 2010
    482
    53
    53
    It's never actually done it while I was using it, but about 5 times now I've woken up and checked it to see it stuck in the reboot loop.
     
  15. NorthVandea

    NorthVandea Well-Known Member
    26

    Oct 5, 2010
    77
    5
    26
    Male
    Information Security Administrator
    Boston area
    I did a full factory data reset on my TF101 and it did NOT fix the reboot/stuck on boot screen issue. So anyone who's considering going through that process, don't bother. I have not had any more situations where the device was in standby and stopped responding to wake ups since I stopped using Steam for Android. But even the full reset did not fix the reboot/ hang on boot screen problem. Guess we'll have to wait for a fix from Asus... I must say though, even though this issue is annoying, my Droid X went through a similar rebooting problem when Motorola first upgraded it to Gingerbread, so these issues are not unique to Asus.
     
  16. Stuntman

    Stuntman Well-Known Member
    343

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,544
    823
    343
    Vancouver, Canada
    My tablet seems only to end up in the rebooting screen when it is in sleep mode. I would put it in sleep and the next day, the tablet is either turned off or in the reboot cycle. At no time did it actually reboot while I was using it for something. The only really disruptive thing about my issue is that it takes a while to start up the tablet once it turns itself off.
     
  17. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    32,038
    26,233
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    That is exactly my experience as well.
     
  18. ams30gts

    ams30gts Well-Known Member
    18

    Jul 31, 2010
    98
    12
    18
    Owner, Allied Armory
    Montebello, CA
    I had it turn off last night too. It was plugged with 100% battery and working fine.

    Was watching Netflix, pressed pause. Screen turned off like it should after XX minutes, but when I tried turning the screen back on, the TF was off. It started up like if it were shutdown.

    hopefully the ASUS patch fix comes out soon.
     
  19. Zingmaster

    Zingmaster Active Member
    16

    Jun 8, 2011
    36
    4
    16
    Mine finally came back from the dead. Uninstalled a few apps I was having trouble with and haven't had an issue for a full day now. I guess we will have to wait for an update.

    Still in the market for an upgrade. Do any other tabs use tegra 3 other than the Asus TF Prime? I haven't done much research but its getting to be time to get a new tablet.

    Also, Is there a way to turn of the ota updates? With this update it showed up on sunday and i told it to delay it a day and then 10 minutes later it bugged me again.
     
  20. Sandroidfan

    Sandroidfan Well-Known Member
    163

    Jul 11, 2011
    2,150
    483
    163
    Male
    Engineer
    Central TX
    Looks like mine has settled down pretty much. Now I'm not having random reboot/shutdown issues since I removed task manager last weekend. I also set Wifi sleep while screen is off though not sure if that helps.
     
  21. CrazySte

    CrazySte Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Sep 22, 2010
    77
    13
    18

    Hi Everybody,
    sadly i have to confirm, what i thought it worked fine, today i had a new thing happening and it is worst: at the 6th Day after i did the Full Factory Reset, the Problem Re-Appeared, and this time, in the worst of the types.

    I was using my Tablet to handle a Tech Support Call, i was looking through some pdf drawings that i have, i was finally ending the call so i was not touching anymore the Tablet that was still with the screen on and...

    BOOM!

    It shutted off and right back on to the ASUS EEE Pad screen, but there were not the little rolling balls that usually are there... actually, there was not even the "Nvidia" logo on the screen.

    I left it like that while i was concluding the Phone call... 5-6 minutes later the Screen was still on with the "ASUS eee Pad" logo in the middle of the screen and no signs of activity.

    i Had to hold the Power Button for 10 seconds and it finally re-started the correct Boot Process.

    ...
    ...
    ...

    ASUS!

    i hope you have a good update on the way...

    Good Luck Guys... i am starting to regret upgrading so quick, i should have sticked to 3.1 for a little longer :-(

    Anyway: TGIF

    HAVE A GOOD WEEKEND!
     
  22. mbob63

    mbob63 Well-Known Member
    16

    Jan 31, 2011
    65
    1
    16
    I have the same random shut down problem as everyone else. I think Asus missed a bug when preparing ICS for our Transformers. Hopefully they will resolve it soon.
     
  23. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    32,038
    26,233
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
  24. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    3,118

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,378
    22,695
    3,118
    Scotland
    ^^Interesting.

    I called their UK Tech support team this afternoon to ask if a patch was forthcoming and he said whilst they're well aware of the problem, they've no idea if a fix is on its way.
     
  25. fldude99

    fldude99 Well-Known Member
    78

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    It's weird, but when it shuts down or reboots itself, the performance of the tablet is very good for a day or so before it flakes out again. I've noticed that apps begin to FC just before it shuts down or reboots
     

Share This Page

Loading...