1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support ICS: Transformer Shutting Off Mysteriously

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CrazySte, Feb 25, 2012.

  1. BeastMD

    BeastMD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    153
    18
    58
    Havent got caught in a boot loop yet, but mine has several time been dead in the morning after being showing plenty of battery left before I went to bed and it has gotten stuck booting a bunch of times as well. Also have issues with the stock browser just disappearing and sending me back to the home page. Thankfully when reloading it takes me exactly where I was most of the time.

    Ugh freaking annoying.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,271
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,271
    40,044
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Uptime 38:50:00 :D

    I think that's a record!
     
  3. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    Yes I agree..I was just venting a little. Anyway, I almost made it to 24 hours then it shut down.

    Doesn't seem like there's much to add to this subject as it is all in Asus' hands now I believe. Hopefully their facebook post is true and next week they will patch this.

    BTW I was in a BB earlier and saw their Transformer is on 4.03 and I asked the sales guy if it has issues..he says it shuts off all the time..stuck on reboot...same old same old...invariably when a customer wants to look at it, they have to reboot it. Nice sales thing there...
     
  4. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    Can you put your finger on anything you think may have allowed this incredible up time?!
     
  5. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,271
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,271
    40,044
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I really haven't been doing anything differently. Surf a little, check mail and G+, facebook, etc. Watch a recorded TV show and play a little Angry Birds.
     
  6. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    Luck of the draw then I guess. What's annoying besides the reboots is how gmail among other apps act very flaky after awhile without a reboot anyway
     
  7. vulcangrey

    vulcangrey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    66
    35
    23
    Male
    Colorado
    Mine has been rebooting since the upgrade on the first day it was available. it only got stuck on the ASUS screen twice, rebooted by holding the power button.

    Last night I forgot to plug it in and it must have rebooted and gotten stuck on the ASUS screen, cause it wouldn't start today. Finally got it to boot by plugging it in a holding the power button for 2s. It wouldn't start if I held it longer than that.

    Battery was at 0%! Not good to run these Lithium cells down to 0%!
     
  8. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,550
    831
    353
    Vancouver, Canada
    I find that occasionally, mine gets caught in the boot loop. It only seems to happen when the tablet goes to sleep. I would close the tablet while in the dock or press the power button to put it to sleep while it is undocked. Then some time later when I use it again, I find that it is in the boot loop. I have never seen my tablet go into the boot loop while I'm using it. I only find it in the loop when I wake it after not using it for a while.

    So far, this isn't too disruptive. It's more annoying when I go to use my tablet and find that part of the power is drained. Also, I have to force it to reboot again which causes a delay in when I can use it again.

    I haven't been able to narrow down what is causing it. There were some reports that it may have something to do with the Google+ app. So far, I haven't been able to conclude if it is or not. I'm going to observe to see if it is related to Google+ alerts. I have my suspicions, but need more time.
     
  9. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    I'm trying what is a workaround until Asus releases a patch, that someone posted in another forum: install auto airplane, by Don(free in the market). Straightforward app that puts it in airplane mode when the screen is off. That's all.. So I'll report back. Side benefit appears to be longer battery life as well. So far 12 hrs up time & counting, without a hiccup.
     
    Thomas S and Stuntman like this.
  10. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,680
    886
    313
    Jacksonville, Fl
    That's in interesting thought - keep us posted please fldude.
     
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,271
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,271
    40,044
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Up time is now at 54:25:00

    Did this somehow magically fix itself?
     
  12. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,680
    886
    313
    Jacksonville, Fl
    They're computers Luna, they don't have to be logical. :D
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  13. Zingmaster

    Zingmaster Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    36
    4
    16
    I'm sure this is going to jinx myself but my up time was around the 200 hour mark this morning. I had already posted what I did to get it to work and so far it has been successful.
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  14. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,271
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,271
    40,044
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Except I didn't really do anything special. Just business as usual.
     
  15. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,550
    831
    353
    Vancouver, Canada
    I have a suspicion that my issue could possibly be due to notifications while in sleep mode. I noticed that there could possibly be a correlation between the tablet going into the boot loop while sleeping and Google+ notifications while sleeping. I was rather active on Google+ yesterday and my tablet went into the boot loop while sleeping a few times. If I'm actively using the tablet, Google+ notifications pop up without any issue.

    I'm going to do some more testing on this later. If this is the case, then putting the tablet into airplane mode before putting it into sleep mode would possibly be a workaround. I'll just put an airplane mode widget on the home screen and toggle it. I'll keep you posted on any further findings.
     
  16. jeff g ives

    jeff g ives Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    19
    1
    16
    Yesterday mine got stuck as it was booting up it was stuck on the ASUS logo with circle of balls turning it was fully charged ....tried everything to get it to start but nothing was working ....so i left it until the battery to run dry . Got up this morning to find it totally flat ...plugged in the power cable pressed the power on .....and it started :):):)
     
  17. Zingmaster

    Zingmaster Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    36
    4
    16
    I got the boot loop notification error on the last over the air update for honeycomb. Shut my wi fi off durring sleep mode and that was cured. After ICS update I kept getting google plus force close messages. Got the perma-lock in sleep mode, let the battery run dry, plugged it in and updated google plus and havent had an issue since.
     
  18. mihaelb

    mihaelb Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    141
    8
    36
    I have mine set to turn wireless off when in sleep mode (so no notifications coming in), and I still get my rebooting/stuck on ASUS boot logo.
     
  19. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,271
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,271
    40,044
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I've tried it WiFi off and on. I though it had to do with notifications too, but even with WiFi off, and no notifications it still rebooted. No I've been keeping WiFi mostly on and have been receiving gmail, email, calendar g+ and market notifications and have not had a reboot in almost 3 days.
     
  20. mihaelb

    mihaelb Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    141
    8
    36
    Just spoke to Asus support in Canada (/US?). The guy I spoke to said that they are not aware of any reboot issues with the TF101. Is anyone calling theirs in??

    Anyways, since the guy says that they are not aware of a reboot trend, he wants me to send mine in for repairs :/

    Might wait a week or two to see if that patch mentioned on the UK Asus facebook page comes in and fixes mine before sending it in, though.
     
  21. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    The airplane mode appears to be a good workaround. On mine however, I may have to do a reset..the gmail app has gone to being non functional without rebooting. Hangs, FC's, freezes, etc. This is an app I can't do without, so it's either get it working or throw the thing out the window. Does anyone know the difference between the volume down/power button hold method compared to doing it through the menu?

    Edit: btw, deleting data in the app for a fresh sync does no good. The gmail app starts and freezes about halfway through the sync
     
  22. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    Try a 3rd Party app for your mail, would that be a workaround in the time being? K9 is pretty good for me.

    I think the reset via the menu and the recovery image are the same thing. Both just wipe the data partition removing all user installed apps and settings etc.
     
  23. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    ^^The built in email app works ok but doesn't sync with the gmail app and doesn't thread the conversations...but it's ok in a pinch. I may also be able to use Chrome, but as most know, it's laggy when using gmail. I don't wanna tie up my weekend messing with this, so I'll probably wait through next week to see what happens on Asus' end. Helluva thing to have an android table that can't run gmail huh. On a positive note, the auto airplane app seems to have done away with the rebooting and shut downs. Just has to reconnect to wifi each time it's woke. Of course, it doesn't prevent the occasional reboot when totally awake, with screen on.
     
  24. vulcangrey

    vulcangrey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    66
    35
    23
    Male
    Colorado
    I also sent an email to Asus support and received a ticket and a reply.

    "Dear Valued Customer,

    Thank you for contacting ASUS Customer Service.

    Sorry for the inconvenience the update carried.
    We're now trying our best to release the fix version for the problem such as rebooting and freezing.
    Now you can try to factory data reset.
    please try to press Setting-->Privacy -> factory data reset to restore your device to factory default.
    **Backup your important data before perform factory data.

    If it doesn't work, please fill-out the online form to request a RMA/replacement order.

    Please include your name, mailing address, telephone number, and the serial number of your product.
    You may also give us a call at 888-678-3688 (24/7 support) we would gladly assist in gettng you setup with an RMA.
    Please have the serial number of your ASUS product handy when you call.

    If you continue to experience issues in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.


    Best Regards,



    Kevin



    ASUS Customer Service"
     
  25. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53
    At least they admit the problem now. Should be fixed in a few weeks....
     

Share This Page

Loading...