1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support ICS: Transformer Shutting Off Mysteriously

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CrazySte, Feb 25, 2012.

  1. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
    I updated about 5 hours ago... GPS doesn't seem to work as the TF seems to think I am in Wisconsin (Currently in Indiana) and I already had a reboot.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,252
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,252
    39,995
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I applied the update about four hours ago and haven't had any issues.
     
  3. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    How about the GPS?
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,252
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,252
    39,995
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    It's showing my current location.
     
  5. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    So you're getting a lock pretty quick
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    I'm picking up an accurate lock nearly instantaneously. Accurate to within 25 metres (and that's inside).
     
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,252
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,252
    39,995
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Lock is pretty quick. About the same as my SGS2.
     
  8. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
    Mine was showing the correct location at first, but it was using WiFi to get it, and saying it was a GPS lock. I disabled using WiFi to detect location and that is when it decided I was in Wisconsin.

    I rebooted it myself and will try it again when I am outside tomorrow. It won't get a lock in the hotel right now.
     
  9. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    Just went ahead and updated. GPS lock is also instant here..it was a concern for me as the ICS installation killed my GPS for a couple days. I think it will be a good 2-3 days before we know if this patch really fixes the shut down issues
     
  10. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,550
    831
    353
    Vancouver, Canada
    I'm giving this a try. I also installed the latest firmware update. We'll see how it goes.

    As for GPS, it works fine. One thing I noticed after ICS is that sometimes my keyboard goes wonky. It sometimes backspaces instead of typing the character I pressed.

    Still doesn't fix the issue where I cannot maximise a video in Dolphin HD without locking up the browser.
     
  11. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
    I have the same Dolphin issue still. That may be a Dolphin thing though.

    Reboot #7 that I witnessed... ugh.
     
  12. mihaelb

    mihaelb Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    141
    8
    36
    Also got the dolphin thing. I think it's something with Dolphin, not the tablet/ICS.

    read on Androidcentral as well that disabling notifications in Tegra Zone may fix the issue, but did not try yet (or the earlier-mentioned developer/deep sleep thing). Going to see if the firmware update fixes it first.

    Got a GPS lock inside my apartment within a few seconds (with wifi turned off and 60m accuracy). Not sure if I had a GPS issue prior to the update, though, as I never use mapping on my tablet.
     
  13. Fir3line

    Fir3line Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, lurker and first time poster here.

    I been following this issue and tried nearly everything suggested on this thread, nothing stops my asus from going into constant reboots.

    Also, I havent got any firmware updates to install(tried the update check), im still on 9.2.1.11
     
  14. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53
    It's Obviously an OS issue with the latest build. I'm still waiting too, don't think it will be fixed until ASUS figures out what's causing it.
     
  15. NorthVandea

    NorthVandea Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Okay, I'm on the new latest update and sometime today my Transformer stopped responding. I had to hold the power button for a full 15 seconds before the tablet began a proper boot. Apparently Asus did not fix the problem :(
     
  16. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,252
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,252
    39,995
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Yup. I had a random reboot today as well. :(
     
  17. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,550
    831
    353
    Vancouver, Canada
    Yeah. Could be a browser specific issue. I have this issue with Dolphin HD, Dolphin for Pad beta and Chrome beta.
     
  18. jeff g ives

    jeff g ives Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    19
    1
    16
    mine got stuck on constant reboot ...you just have to run the battery dry then it should start up ok.
     
  19. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53
    I have nothing but the stock browser and still sometimes get the Random Reboot (RR) issue.
     
  20. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,550
    831
    353
    Vancouver, Canada
    I had suspected that my issues may be related to Google+. I had a G+ notification while I was out. When I got back, the tablet was fine. It doesn't really prove anything. I did not have an opportunity to get a notification before the latest update and the other setting changes for a control condition first. Still, I do feel better about the update and the changes I made. I'll see how things go.
     
  21. mbob63

    mbob63 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    65
    1
    16
    Updated at 7:00 a.m. this morning. No random shut downs or stuck loading screens yet. Will let everyone know if/when it happens.
     
  22. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53
    knock on wood, 24hrs without a RR. Let it go into "deep sleep" at least 3 times.

    Running the 3/13 ICS update #1
     
  23. Lucky Armpit

    Lucky Armpit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    672
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    672
    352
    133
    IT Manager
    Rocky Mount, NC
    I got the update yesterday as well but the fix I posted above cured my random reboot and battery drain issues. Sorry it's not working for others. :(
     
  24. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    After 24 hours uptime it rebooted while asleep (me and the tab). Hope Asus is taking notice. But I will say that apps are behaving on this update so far, such as gmail, which was almost impossible to use for me on the 1st ICS release
     
  25. AArs1

    AArs1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    8
    1
    6
    In 24 hours after the update, I have had one shut down and one reboot. Basically this update did not fix the most serious bug that the ICS release had.

    There was no changelog with this update and still there has been no communication from Asus that they know about the issue and that they are working on it.

    Are we still holding out hope that Asus knows what it is doing when it comes to Android software development?
     

Share This Page

Loading...