1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Ics upgrade internet does not work

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by malimu, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. malimu

    malimu Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    After Upgrading to ICS last night on my Samsung galaxy S2 the internet does not work. I can access my emails but if i have to go to a web site then the screen goes blank then black and then goes back to the original phone.. I was always able to access web site on this phone before upgrade.
    Can any one help or email me malimu@hotmail.com.

    I can however access my Gmail and yahoo mail and or application that has icon on the cell phone screens. else if i go to Google search and enter a site , it just goes bank and later a quick fast message says unfortunately internet has stopped working. i am snot sure why i don't see the Google search as an installed in my cell even tho the icon with voice appears on the search engine.
     

    Advertisement

  2. johangils

    johangils Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Same problem after upgrade this morning
     
  3. johangils

    johangils Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Solved my problem. I have a Samsung Galaxy S2. Go to Settings, Applications, click the ALL tab and scroll down to Internet. Then clear cache see if it works, if not clear data. I cleared both and the internet worked.
     
  4. Befe

    Befe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Thank you very much, johangils!:)
     
  5. dazza888

    dazza888 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    thank you for the solve. this has worked for me although i can no longer download my payslips. pdf file. any suggestions? thank you again for the internet solve.
     
  6. pcitizen

    pcitizen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    4
    0
    25
    Support (user + network)
    Sydney, Australia
    I upgraded my Galaxy IIs to ICS (I9100XXLPS through KIES) and since then my Internet does not work (internet or apps) through the network. I dont even get the flashing network status icons 2G/G/3G/H/H+ like I did under the previous OS. Works through WiFi.
    I made a point of copying my APN data down before ICS and recreated my APN settings (And I am pretty confident I got it right).
    The clerk at the Virgin mobile store reckons I got it right (dont laugh). He reckons that I need to factory reset and reinstall the firmware. dont know how to do that.
     
  7. Rottitera

    Rottitera Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012

    Apr 7, 2012
    10
    1
    36
    Driver
    Southport, UK
     
  8. pcitizen

    pcitizen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    4
    0
    25
    Support (user + network)
    Sydney, Australia
    Did a factory reset and that alone seem to have done the trick. All of a sudden the 2G/3G/H/H+ status icon started working and the phone started downloading across the wireless. Turned the wifi on and completed the rest of the downloads via WiFi.
     
  9. uzee

    uzee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    243
    8
    56
    Male
    Scotland
    hi

    my internet with 3G/H+ works fine, but since ICS update doesnt with home wifi. I tried the above but no luck.
     
  10. yutahay

    yutahay Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I tried going to applications, clicking all, but there is no "internet" listing to click to try and clear stuff from. OK smart people, please help this old guy who's trying to stay up out,would ya? Maybe I should just do the whole operating system download again. What do you think?
     
  11. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Try looking for it again. Scroll a little more carefully. Internet is using the world icon.
     
  12. nictuc

    nictuc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Thank you so much - worked
     

Share This Page

Loading...