• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root I'd love to delete photo bucket

I don't and won't use photo bucket for anything. I check running apps and it constantly turns itself on. I tried the uninstaller in the phone with no luck. I got an uninstaller app from the app store and it won't get rid of it either. I've heard about rooting, but am too much of a novice to want to try that. Any suggestions?

I know how you feel about the pre-installed programs...
I hated having the stupid Uno game and whatever else automatically starting all the time. Unfortunately the only way to get rid of them that I know is root the phone and remove them with something like Android Mate.

I'm new to Android and the Huawei Ascend is my first. Saying that, I was able to search around and found pretty clear instructions on rooting the Ascend. You'll likely find one main set of instructions with a few follow-ups from other people about what they did to root it. After a bit of hard work and searching, I got it rooted, installed Android Mate and got rid of all the garbage I didn't want on there.

Rooting has the potential to mess up the phone if you delete the wrong stuff or do it wrong. At least if you break the phone in the process, it's not too expensive to get another.

Upvote 0
I don't and won't use photo bucket for anything. I check running apps and it constantly turns itself on. I tried the uninstaller in the phone with no luck. I got an uninstaller app from the app store and it won't get rid of it either. I've heard about rooting, but am too much of a novice to want to try that. Any suggestions?