1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General If I buy an unlocked G1 from eBay....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CantThinkOfAName, May 7, 2010.

  1. CantThinkOfAName

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    do i still have to go through the activation screen where it asks you to set up a google account? or will i be stuck on that screen?

    i have a prepaid sidekick lx that broke and i want a phone with wifi and a keyboard. i honestly don't even use the internet a lot anymore since i only really use it to check my facebook, but since i receive texts from facebook if i get a notification i don't need internet

    basically:
    1. i have a prepaid sidekick lx that broke
    2. i want to buy an unlocked g1
    3. will i have to go through the activation screen if i buy one unlocked?
    4. i don't really need internet. as long as the unlimited texts work i'll be happy

    i searched the forum and couldn't find what i wanna know since most of the threads are about using the g1 on another network
     

    Advertisement

  2. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    185
    3
    36
    Toronto
  3. CantThinkOfAName

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    i'm planning on buying a used g1 from eBay so that would mean the original owner already got through the activation screen. wouldn't that mean that i don't have to do that anymore?
     
  4. mesovortex888

    mesovortex888 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    30
    0
    15
    No, you still have to go through that screen as the original owner will wipe his/her phone and you will start over like new out of the box.

    If you want to skip that, just get other android phones besides G1 and Mytouch. For others you can easily connect to wifi to activate instead of going through the complex process to turn on wifi.
     
  5. kwanbis

    kwanbis Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    This is not true. I got a G1 that was not wiped. So you most likely, depending on the person knowledge, get it logged.

    BUT, you should wipe it.

    The WIFI process is very simple. I have done it myself like 10 times at least.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...