1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General if i buy this metro pcs 4g lte sim card will it work?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TDE, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. TDE

    TDE Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012

    Nov 19, 2012
    3
    0
    25
    Okay so i bought a Lg Motion from some dude of craiglist he sold it to me with no sim card so im like okay i can just go to metro and purchase it there but they said they do not sell them and that every card is unique? so im lurking around the internet trying to find answers and i find this on ebay

    (i cant post links fuk) ebay > search > metro pcs micro sim card (first link)

    i messaged the seller and he said the card will work if the esn is clean is this true? can i stick this in my phone and take it to metro pcs to get it turned on?
     

    Advertisement

  2. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    A SIM is unique to everyone's account. Why did Metro say they couldn't provide you one with your account? Is the ESN clean? If not, the phone may be stolen and unusable.
     
    TDE likes this.
  3. qandres12

    qandres12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    1,360
    211
    143
    Male
    What you said lol
     
  4. TDE

    TDE Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012

    Nov 19, 2012
    3
    0
    25
    how can i check if my esn is clean? and yes i took it to the metro store and they said i needed the sim card for my phone so they can turn it on ( i was switching from a blackberry to the lg motion) i also read around these forums that you couldn't purchase the sim at a local metro store is that true?

    Thanks for the quick reply!
     
  5. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    Maybe it has to to with the CDMA side of Metro.

    My SIM card came in the box with the phone, not pulled from a stack of available cards. The number on the card had to be added to my account, just like the MEID. Also, with a settings change, the phone will connect to and run on the CDMA network without any SIM at all.

    It's not like GSM where the SIM card is your key to the network.
     
  6. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    I'm not sure where it's located on your phone but it's generally behind the battery. You can have it run through Metro's system to ensure it is legit.
     
  7. trigger1074

    trigger1074 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    309
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012

    Jul 26, 2012
    309
    51
    53
    That guy behind the counter
    In a chair somewhere in the US
    The new SIM cards can go with you phone to phone. The old ones were phone specific. You just need to find a store that stocks a supply of micro and mini sims for replacement. Corporate store is you best bet. The Motion uses a micro
     
  8. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    673
    87
    78
    importer/exporter/gravedigger
    NYC
    i dont think metro sells the cards, ur best bet is to find one from somewhere and when you activate ur phone give them the card numbers as well, however dont ever say you got it separately if they say anything just say its the card that came with the phone.
     
  9. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
  10. duchat

    duchat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013

    Apr 17, 2013
    3
    0
    25

    I bought an LG Motion Metro PCS on Ebay without a SIM. I went to a local authorized dealer, who had a couple of "universal" SIMs for the phone, and he was able to install it and register my phone for me. The problem was the SIM cost 45 bucks! The guy felt bad and waived the 15 dollar change phone fee for changing my account from my older non-Lte, non smartphone to the newer Motion.

    Has anyone else bought one of these SIMs? And if so, what did they cost?
    Was I ripped off by the local dealer?
     
  11. Spdfreak34

    Spdfreak34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012

    Dec 23, 2012
    268
    58
    53
    Male
    I sold my Motion to a coworker and they had trouble activating the original sim card. They ended up ordering him a new one for $5. It took a week for it to come in, but everything was fine after that.
     
  12. rbraad

    rbraad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013

    Apr 24, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Hello guys im new to the forum and need some help. Just bought a LG motion and the guy took the sim card out thinking i could just buy another one. After reading around im getting scared i may of just wasted 70 bucks! Can you replace these cards at metro store? Also if i do the hiden menu thing and switch over to cdma/3g mode can i activate the phone without the sim? The esn is clean and i believe the phone is fiarly new.

    thx guys
     
  13. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    The uicc card is for LTE and on past LG's the device worked just fine w/o it, just no 4g/lte.

    WTF ppl keep taking the uiic out for??? makes no fin sense. :rolleyes:
     
    rbraad likes this.
  14. rbraad

    rbraad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013

    Apr 24, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    i cant activate the phone with out the sim card or what ever it is? Question is can i replace it or is there a work around to activate with out the card? ATM i can only make emg calls....

    thx for ur help...
     
  15. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Is there some reason you keep repeating the same question instead of looking at the answer to it in the post immediately prior to the first time you asked it?

    If you have the right answer, asking the question 10 more times won't change that.

    Bruce in Ocala, FL
     
  16. rbraad

    rbraad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013

    Apr 24, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    I understand what he told me but it didnt amswer the question if i could activate the phone without the sim card and was there a work around incase i couldnt obtain the card. In anycase i was able to obtain the card so all is well.

    thx for your help and understanding what its like to be a noob around here...
     
  17. tracey19015

    tracey19015 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 12, 2013

    May 12, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    they told me to go to the corporate store to get a new card
     
  18. sherylvarien

    sherylvarien Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013

    Nov 23, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    That sounds about right only the Metro PCS store I went to, and I had to go to several authorized dealers to find one that had a SIM card for the Metro PCS Motion, only charged me 5 dollars. But then the dealer refused to install it or sell it to me because he said the phone was still owned by somebody else. So he said I had to wait until their account ran out for the month and if they did not pay the bill I may be able to switch it over and maybe not. I bought the phone from someone on Craigslist. It was obviously stolen.
     
  19. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    Just a question. What did you guys pay for your phones?

    I have one I'm getting ready to post in the classified section.

    Good imei and uccid card. Charger. 8Gb external sd loaded with recovery kdz and associated programs and instructions. Also loaded with roms/recovery installation files and instructions.

    I'm the only previous owner.
     
  20. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    About 2 months ago, I got $85 shipped for mine on The Bay but it was documented only used for 2 months then boxed back up. It still had the original screen protector on it from the factory.

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
    Tokenpoke likes this.
  21. Marie951

    Marie951 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014

    Dec 17, 2014
    1
    0
    15
    Female
    Yes i only paid $10 for mine you got ripped off
     
  22. Bunlom hom

    Bunlom hom Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    How can i switch my lg Motion from MetroPCS cdma to another cdma Carrier, such as sprint or Verizon? Would it be possible?
     
  23. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #96
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,759
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,759
    451
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    You can't, or it's very doubtful. You might be able to get a CDMA MVNO to put it on their network but I doubt that Sprint or Verizon will. They just don't typically allow other operators phones on their network.
     
  24. Bunlom hom

    Bunlom hom Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...