1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root If I root my Iconia, will I get AD-HOC support?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by peakbagger, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. peakbagger

    peakbagger Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Anyone know? If I root my iconia will I get ad-hoc support?
     

    Advertisement

  2. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    As far as I know, rooting will not do anything special for you or add much in the way of features. What it does do, is allow you to make changes, tweaks and install of software, patches etc, that will allow you all sorts of new features, options and improvements.

    Search the various Android forums for "adhoc" and you should find what you need. I just found this for example which is not a100 specific but should at least give you some good info. Ignore the rooting part, that method doesn't work with the A100. If you need rooting info, I have a How-To in the AllThingsRoot subforum of this one.

    http://androidforums.com/acer-iconia-tab-a500/321558-acer-a500-cant-connect-wifi.html

    Specific Text in that thread that looks interesting:
    ######################################
    A500 needs hack to work with Adhoc WiFi on Cell phones
    Acer A500 AdHoc WiFi support.
    Use Gingerbreak 2.2 to root. (easy )

    get adb as part of android development kit. You can use a terminal emulator on the device itself, just harder to type.
    - Acer USB driver needed for adb to work
    Place new wpa_supplicant in sdcard/download directory - search
    "Got Ad-hoc wifi working on my Xoom! (binaries inside)" to find it.
    Short usb cable needed. Long one had issues.
    set debug mode to on - tablet settings->applications.
    on pc - via cmd shell , change to directory where adb is located.
    on pc - adb devices (confirm one is listed)
    on PC - adb shell (adb remount did not work for me, or use a Terminal emulator (free) from the the market)
    su ( should see # as prompt after success)
    mount -o rw,remount /system
    cd /system
    chmod 775 bin
    cd bin
    cat wpa_supplicant > wpa_supplicant.old
    ls ( make sure copy exists)
    cat /sdcard/download/wpa_supplicant > /system/bin/wpa_supplicant
    ls –a –l (make sure overwritten)
    chmod 755 /system/bin/wpa_supplicant ( make it executable)
    chown system.wifi /system/etc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf (not sure if needed)
    mount -o ro,remount /system
    press ctrl-c (exit adb shell)
    unplug usb
    reboot tablet
    restart start phone – ( my Huawei 8100 needs this if its been on for a while)
    on tablet go to wifi setup - (as normal)

    ahhh!
    ##################
     
  3. peakbagger

    peakbagger Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Thanks for that. I did find another software based solution that did what I needed, which was to share a win xp wireless as an ap.that solution you identified could be useful in another environment I am testing though.
     
  4. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Huh?
     
  5. AcerA100

    AcerA100 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011

    Nov 8, 2011
    1
    0
    5

    Can you give some idea abt the sofware based solution you found?
     

Share This Page

Loading...