1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General If Swype beta stopped working...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Peter123, May 27, 2010.

  1. Peter123

    Peter123 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    405
    24
    38
    Physicist
    Some of you might have experienced this message:
    "The Swype package you installed is configured for another device..."
    and it does not work.

    The way I could make it work again was:
    (1) I deselected swype as the input method (went back to normal typing)
    (2) Close the input selection window, then reopen it and select swype as the input method. Works for me.
    Peter

    PS. you may need to do this again if you reboot the phone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    Did you get a replacement device and now it says the ID doesn't match? That's my deal. I saw your method mentioned on the Swype website. Looks like you have to do what you did every time that you reboot your phone. I want my swipe back!
     
  3. Peter123

    Peter123 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    405
    24
    38
    Physicist
    I did not get a replacement device, however, I have the OTA 2.1 update.
    Peter
     
  4. scrubs

    scrubs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    80
    6
    36
    Swype is really driving me crazy. I've had the above message of "configured for another device" come up randomly. I've tried all the tips on the swype beta faq, along with the one above, which works only some of the time...I am getting this error every time I turn the phone off/on, as well as at other times after it has been working fine for a few days...completely unacceptable. I fly frequently, meaning I have to turn off the device for takeoff/landing, and reinstalling swype each time is just not going to work for me.

    Has anybody found a better solution?
     
  5. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas

    How did you recieve your apk? The official installer?
     
  6. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    776
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    776
    62
    78
    California
    This also happened to me when I rooted my Eris. It kept saying it was not configured for my device and a blue box would show around the swype keyboard. I just got tired selecting it as the input method because the blue box would keep showing, so I uninstalled it. Now I use Swiftkey Beta, I like the look because it matches my notification bar on CELB 2.8 and it has really good word prediction.
     
  7. meatwad

    meatwad Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    Athens, GA
    Same thing happened to me when I rooted. I just downloaded the Swype Installer. Re-entered my password and downloaded from there. Haven't had any problems.
     
  8. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    776
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    776
    62
    78
    California
    I did that 2 times, but the blue box still kept showing when I try to Swype, so I just gave up lol.
     
  9. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    There is an apk that will never expire located on the XDA forums. That is all I will say.
     
  10. scrubs

    scrubs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    80
    6
    36
    Yes, it's the official installer I was e-mailed as a registered beta user.
     

Share This Page

Loading...