1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support If you have laggy Hero problems...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mbell75, May 10, 2010.

  1. mbell75

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    981
    77
    78
    SoCal
    ..you are in an area that doesnt get good coverage. I already figured this out when I took a trip to the mountains and now confirmed it again by coming to Scottsdale, AZ. Around the main part of the city, my Hero worked just as it does at home. Everything worked as it should. However, once I went into the hills where the coverage isnt so good, the phone freaks out. Dialer was MAJORLY laggy. Like I could press a button on the dialer and it would take 5 seconds to register I pushed it. Calls would only ring for about 5 seconds if that and then say I had a missed call. Again, this works perfectly at home, no issues. The keyboard was pretty much useless when typing texts, even my speech to text had communication errors while working. My signal strength bounced from 1 to as many as 3 bars, but the performance didnt improve. So after seeing this again where I usually have zero problems at home has convinced me that your phones performance greatly depends on your location.
     

    Advertisement

  2. JD_from_da_80s

    JD_from_da_80s Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    203
    38
    63
    40
    Is your Hero stock or rooted?
     
  3. matty032

    matty032 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    302
    12
    48
    Yes, you are correct. Signal strength is the number one cause of lag, not just for the Hero, but for all cell phones. When in a low signal area, the phone is forced to turn the transmitter up to full power, to try an compensate. Which robs power from the rest of the phone components. This in turn slows down the phone. :D
     
  4. baneoh

    baneoh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Is there a way to counteract this? I live in a poor service area.


    On the same topic (sort of) I notice that when I use my media player it seems to lag when I have bad service. Why does my media player need to connect to the network!? And can I turn this function off?
     
  5. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    624
    47
    68
    Martial Arts Instructor
    Michigan - Metro Detroit
    My hero functions like SHIT in the low coverage area that I live. At work (full to near full bars) it functions like a champ!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...