1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General if you start over with 1.5...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by m80, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. m80

    m80 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    0
    25
    Indiana
    I have an Eris with 1.5. I had an Eris that I had leak 2.1v3 and had issues with it. Took it to VZW and they sent me a new phone. I've had it for almost 6 weeks. I haven't had any problems with it.

    So I am wondering what everyone would do if they could start over. Root, OTA, etc. By the way, I downloaded the OTA update but haven't let it install. The reminder pops up a lot. Annoying...
     

    Advertisement

  2. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    if you have 1.5 ..... as far as rooting is concerned theres no downside to taking the OTA......... going to 2.1 OTA will leave your hboot the same...... which means you will still be able to root after the update
     
  3. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143
    I was the same way had 1.5 and wouldnt update to 2.1. finally gave into 2.1 then was like wtf lets root, best decision ive every made with this phone..
     
  4. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    You should either root your phone, or at least trade it with someone who's stuck with HBOOT 1.49 S-ON and can't root.
     
  5. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    429
    21
    58
    Nashville, TN
    that would be the nice thing to do
     
  6. m80

    m80 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    0
    25
    Indiana
    I wanted to root for sure, but I guess my question now would be, root now then then update to OTA 2.1, or update to OTA 2.1 then root. Or does it even matter?
     
  7. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    I'd say, do the update first, that way Verizon has it in their system that you took the upgrade. In the end it doesn't really matter since rooting overwrites your system image with an older version of 2.1, and then you have to install a ROM to get back up to the current version.
     
  8. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    791
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    791
    26
    68
    When you root, odds are you'll use a ROM based on 2.1, so why do it twice ? For comfort (for now), use a ROM like Ivan's. It will look exactly like a stock 2.1 phone.
     
  9. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    791
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    791
    26
    68
    Do they care ? With previous upgrades, if you did them via the download (from PCD Phones), VZW wouldn't know. Granted, they haven't made the update available (yet) from PCD...
     
  10. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    Yeah, I only suggested it because people were getting emails from Verizon saying, "Hey, you haven't upgraded yet!" If you come to them with a problem later, they're going to say it's because you haven't upgraded. And then if you tell them you did upgrade, they're going to argue with you and tell you you're wrong.
     
  11. buff12db

    buff12db Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    188
    12
    38
    Well, I did start over after returning my V3 leak phone because of a trackball issue that my refurb also has (but is not even close to as bad as my first). I got the refurb in the middle of OTA. As soon as I turned it on, it prompted me to upgrade. I ignored and rooted.
    I definitely think I getting the most out of my phone now. I'm not even close to 100% happy with this phone, but with root I'm much happier than I was on the leaks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...