1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

If you'd like to be able to hide the status bar while in the Browser

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by worker1, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. worker1

    worker1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    60
    3
    36
    Visit THIS feature request, and "star" it by clicking on the star. Replies are also welcome.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ap3604

    ap3604 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    571
    78
    98
    The iPhone 3gs I had before the Nexus One always had ton's of browser applications that were "full screen".

    Now I haven't looked, but if I come across a developer browser that does I will let you know :)
     
  3. worker1

    worker1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    60
    3
    36
    Thanks, everyone for all the support on this issue.
     
  4. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    229
    23
    38
    Bristol, UK
    The latest Dolphin Browser HD V2 does this.
     
  5. ap3604

    ap3604 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    571
    78
    98
    Yeah, only problem though is in landscape mode the key's get completely messed up while typing something.
     
  6. Soupdragon

    Soupdragon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    204
    19
    38
    Intergalatic Chef
    On Another Planet
    "The latest Dolphin Browser HD V2 does this"

    Also Xscope which has a "full screen" option.
     
  7. ap3604

    ap3604 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    571
    78
    98
    I started using Dolphin as my default browser now because of the full screen mode.

    The only problem I had initially was when you put it in full screen mode and you press the search capacitive button to google for something in landscape mode the key's get all messed up while typing. For some reason the browser tries to insert a status bar while your typing in landscape mode but ONLY when your using the capacitive search button. All other typing is fine in landscape.

    So to get around this I set my gesture (that sends me to home page Google) to something really easy so that I can easily just use the gesture to replace the capacitive search button. Problem solved and now I have full screen browser! Thanks t0ph0id :)

    (I can't wait till Dolphin comes out with the add block plus addon...)
     
  8. Teknologic

    Teknologic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    969
    93
    98
    Male
    Belgium
    What's more, you can bring it back while browsing by just jankin' down the top of your screen and then push it back in :p

    I've stuck with xScope for a long time, pretty solid browser.
     
  9. worker1

    worker1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    60
    3
    36
    I'm on xscope now and it's great.
     
  10. justdoit

    justdoit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    82
    5
    16
    Does Dolphin support the 2.2 flash plug in?
     
  11. ap3604

    ap3604 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    571
    78
    98
    Sure does :)

    Does everything the regular android browser does + more which is why I made it my default...
     
  12. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    do both Dolphin and xScope have tab options?
     
  13. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    229
    23
    38
    Bristol, UK
    Dolphin does, not sure about xScope
     
  14. worker1

    worker1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    60
    3
    36
    Yes it does
     
  15. ap3604

    ap3604 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    571
    78
    98
    Dolphin HD browser might be even with xScope so far, but pretty soon Dolphin will have ad-block plus as an add on which tips the scales in Dolphins favor in my book :)
     
  16. outoffocus

    outoffocus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    145
    0
    35
    giving the 3rd party browser options to lose the bar, the big problem now is durning car navigation right? seems logical for google to offer an option turn the bar off.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...