1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Support I'm in trouble and need help......FAST!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chris623, Jan 28, 2012.

1. Chris623

Chris623 New Member

Jan 28, 2012
    I just activated my first android phone........a Motorola Bravo........with Consumer Cellular. I've never used a smart phone before, so every single thing about it is "Greek" to me. When I went to Consumer Cellular from AT&T, I thought a smart phone would be nice. I use a cell phone primarily for voice communications. I've sent about 10 text messages since getting my first phone back in the 90's. But I thought it would be nice to have a qwerty keyboard, just in case. I also envied seeing others have access to weather reports and a few things like that. I will never listen to music, play games, visit social networks or any of that. I may eventually need to Google something for info. My web usage will be minimum. So I ordered the Bravo. Immediately I start noticing all of this web usage showing up on my data usage site. In fact, in less than 5 days, all of my 5mb was used up and exceeded. I contacted them and asked what the problem was. Turns out there are so many things running in the background that I had no idea were activated that it was connecting me to the web every time I turned on the phone. Got hold of a fellow in Consumer Cellulars Support who told me to install the Advanced Task Killer Free program and "sort of" walked me through getting things killed on my phone. I say "sort of" because I have 111,000 plus kb on my bill and still counting......as long as I have my phone on.