1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

I'm moving to China for 4 months. Do you know any carriers that I can use the phone on?

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by Patsson77, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. Patsson77

    Patsson77 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012

    Aug 20, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Do you know of any carrier that I can use the phone with while I'm over there. I do not want to cancel my Sprint coverage, just something temporary.
     

    Advertisement

  2. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,903
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,903
    3,631
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    Moved your question to the sprint forum.

    Simply put, the HTC evo or any smartphone on Sprints lineup uses CDMA technology. You could use the handset over there on the WIFI network, but anything that requires cellular CDMA 3G radio transmission will not work properly.

    Sprint has a feature to where you can put your account on hold temporarily. Military people use it all the time. Give sprint a shout and ask about it.
     
  3. rambo47

    rambo47 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    240
    41
    63
    Denville, NJ.
    $10 per month to "freeze" your account, 6 months limit (but some folks have gotten it extended).

    Your best bet is probably to get a pre-paid setup over there and a new phone to go with it. When you leave, sell it locally.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  4. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    I agree with this. You should just "freeze" your account until you're back.

    If you had a Photon (not the Q, the original), you could actually pop in a SIM from over there and use the Photon.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  5. mkvoran

    mkvoran Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    89
    32
    23
    Product Developer, Category Manager
    St. Louis MO
    Concur with both points above....

    Photon works great on China Unicom or China Mobile (I think Unicom has the faster data speeds).

    OR if you are going to be traveling alot within China or Hong Kong; and money is not a huge concern (ie work paying the bill) just get a roaming card from Three in Hong Kong. Fantastic service, and easier roaming. (with China Unicom or china Mobile, you have to have a different SIM in each locality (ie Shanghai is different SIM card than Beijing etc etc.) The 'Three' card works in all of China as well as Hong Kong. 98hk(like 12 USD) per day when roaming, 28(3.5 USD)when in Hong Kong.

    If you have to go with one of the China providers, get a dual sim phone if you plan to travel between two different areas much. Saves at least SOME hassle, and I think there are even phones with THREE sim slots as well.

    Also, if you are going to have permanent residence, you can get post paid service which is easier because you dont have to worry about refilling your balance....
     
  6. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012

    Aug 31, 2012
    283
    58
    73
    Perfect example of why I'd require an unlocked world phone or I'd go with a GSM provider who'd unlock the phone.

    Jim
     
  7. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
     #140
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,202
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,202
    312
    173
    NYC
    Anyone say T-Mob--sshhh... :bebored:
     

Share This Page

Loading...