• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Im new to Android..and dont really understand! Help me pleeease!!

Having had a blackberry for years I decided I fancied a change and got the LG Optimus 2x...and Im a bit confused on a couple of things!!
1) How do I sync my hotmail email address to my phone?
2) How do I delete "Facebook for LG" to replace it with "Facebook for Android"?
Also, is there anyway to save battery? I have a task killer app which seems good but the battery still doesnt last a whole day!!
I think that is all for now haha..
Any help would be GREATLY appreciated! Thankyoooou!!!! :D

Firstly, welcome to android! Here you can find all the answers you need!

So let's get started:

1. There should be an app on the phone called "Email." This is different from GMAIL that will also be on the phone. On the Email app, you should be able to chose the type of account you have, such as hotmail, and enter the correct info and you should be golden. To check that the account is syncing with the phone, you can go to Settings>Accounts & Sync and there will be a list of accounts that you have on the phone, and which ones are syncing.

2. If Facebook for LG was on it when you got the phone, you can't get rid of it. It's called bloatware, and carriers prohibit them from being deleted unless you are rooted. This sucks, we all know, but some phones have more of this crapware than others. However, just because you can't delete it, doesn't mean you have to use it. To use FB for Android instead, just download it from the market, and sign in on it. Again, go to Accounts & Sync in your settings, and make sure that the FB for LG account is NOT syncing, and the FB for Android one is, and you should be good to go!

3. Some people argue that task killers are more counter productive. Having done an objective experiment on it myself, I have to agree with them. Best ways to extend battery life are: