1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support I'm not get a 4G signal anymore. Why!? =(

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by king9starz, Apr 25, 2012.

  1. king9starz

    king9starz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    81
    0
    15
    About 2 days ago i stopped getting a 4G signal. I tried Restart Connections, and even restarting my phone but to no avail. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    6,929
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6,929
    2,687
    633
    Male
    Detroit,Michigan
    Your account is current:thinking:
    Have you tried updating your prl-*228-option 5.
    Also go into your settings-wireless/network-mobile settings-and make sure date is enabled.
     
  3. jindy77

    jindy77 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011

    Oct 27, 2011
    50
    5
    16
    the exact same thing happened to me king9starz - 2 days ago, in the morning. i tried everything.*
    then, an hour later, it randomly came back, seemingly outta the blue.
    *BUT - i NEVER dialed/updated *228-option 5 - and was on prl 3027, now i am on prl 3028. wondering how that happened? AND if that "fixed" my no 4g signal, which has been better than 3027, but still weird that it changed w/out me updating it?!

    good luck!
     
  4. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    413
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    9 times out of 10 if you just all of a sudden lose 4G, it's Metro. Just be patient and if it doesn't come back on call them.
     
    jindy77 likes this.
  5. king9starz

    king9starz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    81
    0
    15
    Yea i'm guessing it was just metro because i finally got it back. BTW what does update zvd improve on?
     
  6. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    413
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A

    Nothing. lol

    IMO you should only update to ZVD if you are on ZVC. BUT once I did that I would just downgrade to ZVB.
     
  7. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    metro has stopped at the moment from buying more spectrum if ya notice besides losing 4g or 3g have ya also noticed recieving 8-10 txt message late from people???? thats a sure sign that metro's network is overflooded and cant keep up.
     
  8. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    6,929
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6,929
    2,687
    633
    Male
    Detroit,Michigan
    Get that with Gmail here-like it's on time delay:adore:
     
  9. careloads

    careloads Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    14
    2
    16
    I lost 4g for a week and finally flashed Superuser 2.3.6.3 efgh. It has been working since aside from a few hiccups. Got it from Rom Toolbox.
     
  10. Curster

    Curster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    85
    4
    16
    Male
    Student
    Winter Haven, Florida, United States
    Ive lost it too... No network at all and I'm getting dual txt msgs back to back... Called Metro to find out what's what and forgot my high security password now I have to travel an hour awat to get that fixed... lol
     
  11. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    ahh why do people change their defualt security code to a high security pass that expires every so often?
     
  12. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    6,929
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6,929
    2,687
    633
    Male
    Detroit,Michigan
    They have something going on for sure the last few days. I have had no problems with 4g but my sons admire lost 3g all together. Had him do the *228 5 to update the prl (even though he had before) and walla back to 3g.
     
  13. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    lol imagine all of our phones like a food tray and we are all in all u can eat metro 3g/4g buffet cept we are stuck on a long ass line waiting to be served since metro dosnt want to create more lines/spectrum for us we are stuck in a slow moving traffic line....
     
  14. careloads

    careloads Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    14
    2
    16
    I lost 4g for a week and finally flashed Superuser 2.3.6.3 efgh. It has been working since aside from a few hiccups. Got it from Rom Toolbox.


    Well, after flashing the rom 4g worked well for a few days and now It is back to ultra slow...dont know where to go from here. I am hesitant to call support because of rooted status...they may frown upon that...:D

    Can we disable 4g and just go 3g in the meantime?
     
  15. akikhia

    akikhia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,165
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011

    Oct 24, 2011
    1,165
    87
    128
    god i thought it was just my stupid phone. it did that a couple times in the past week. its getting on my nerves when it happens
     
  16. akikhia

    akikhia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,165
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011

    Oct 24, 2011
    1,165
    87
    128
    i have a feeling JD has something to do with it. all the toggling
     
  17. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    6,929
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6,929
    2,687
    633
    Male
    Detroit,Michigan
    Could possibly be the plan that you are on and that you have reached you cap.
    There probably is a way to manipulate how the phone goes from 3g to 4g deep with some of the settings using AnyCut for instance. Have not really explored that. Very seldom here in metro Detroit do I see 3g on my phone-I either have weak 4g signal(dead zones) or it is blazing at at least 3mb's.
     
  18. careloads

    careloads Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    14
    2
    16
    Update: I think this could be software related. I ran Speedtest and it showed good #s. So I ran Netflix and streamed fine on 4g. Immediately went to Craigslist Notification and it wouldnt load. I tried Google Play, no prob...Best Apps, wouldnt load. I dont know how but my 4g speeds seem to be fluctuating based on the app I am using at the time. This all started way after I rooted so I am confident in the ROM...although I dont know code...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...