1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I'm stuck in Root Limbo...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by west, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. west

    west Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    So I need to bring my phone to Sprint for a warranty replacement. It was rooted in the past so I turned it back to S-On did the OTA Gingerbread not realizing that the SuperUser Permissions App is still there.

    So my phone is technically not rooted but they will think it is. I can't restore from a nandroid backup or flash any other ROMs because I no longer have root and there's no way that I know of to root the OTA Gingerbread update.

    Any ideas would be helpful. Thanks guys!

    :eek:
     

    Advertisement

  2. esthernrob

    esthernrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    646
    347
    133
    i deliver the nectar of the gods, BEER!
    Upstate, NY
    not quite sure what you're asking here... if you're unrooted, running the ota update, just delete the superuser apk...

    EDIT - power on / volume down = s-off , right??? then you are not rooted....
     
  3. west

    west Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    From what I've read you have to be rooted to do that and there's no way that I know of to root the version I'm on. Unrevoked hasn't released anything, etc..
     
  4. esthernrob

    esthernrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    646
    347
    133
    i deliver the nectar of the gods, BEER!
    Upstate, NY

    perhaps try running the unroot proceedure again, clearing all cache, dalvik, data...

    EDIT - outside of that, i'm out of suggestions, sorry...
     
  5. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Were you ever rooted at some point? If so, why did you install that OTA update?
     
  6. west

    west Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I was rooted at one point so I restored from a nandroid backup and unrooted so I could take my phone to Sprint to be replaced under warranty (it bugs out constantly, screen won't respond, etc.). Then I did all the OTAs to get to Gingerbread, not realizing the SuperUser Permissions were still there and couldn't be removed unless you're rooted. Now I need that icon gone so I can take it to Sprint but there's no root for Gingerbread yet so it looks like I'm stuck for now.

    :mad:
     
  7. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    can you not just remove the super user app and other super user apps with manage applications? uninstall
     
  8. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I would have thought that when running the ruu to flash the stock recovery and stock rom it would have deleted everything except what was flashing with the ruu. Superuser has no option in mine to uninstall.

    Did you run the ruu after the s-on tool like the Rooting Guide says to do?

    This hasn't been asked that I have seen......what is your current hboot version?
     
  9. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    that makes sense... I have never run into the issue..but this if it is a situation of unrooted in the wrong order it will be the third or fourth one this week. we may want to look at the unroot instructions and see if there is a way we can make them clearer.
     
  10. west

    west Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    hboot version: 2.16.0001
    radio version: 2.15.00.05.02
    Android: 2.3.3
    Software: 4.22.651.2
    PRI: 2.15_003
    PRL: 01115

    After I got s-on I connected through HTC sync and ran the latest RUU I could find: RUU_SuperSonic_S_Sprint_WWE_3.70.651.1_Radio_2.15.00.11.19_NV_1.90_release_161482_signed

    It made a little progress then said: ERROR (140): BOOTLOADER VERSION ERROR

    Not sure where to go from here. Thanks again!
     
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    Unfortunately that hboot had not been rooted yet. so I don't think a ruu will work. Though supposedly somebody ran it to go back to froyo on a youtube video. But I have as of yet seen the actual ruu. So you may have to take your chances with taking it in.
     
  12. whatsitsname

    whatsitsname Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    320
    68
    53
    If as you say you have s-on and got the updates ota, then just do a factory reset. That will wipe all your install apps/info and bring the EVO back to stock OTA state (free of superuser).
     
  13. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Worth a shot. The RUU should have done that when he ran it, but things get missed sometimes I guess.
     
  14. whatsitsname

    whatsitsname Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    320
    68
    53
    I think the RUU wipes but OTA doesn't. OTA kept some of my apps iirc. The op ran the OTA update not the RUU if I understand correctly.
     
  15. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Yes but he first ran the s-on tool then the RUU for 3.70 which "should" have cleared everything and set it to "out of the box" stock
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...