1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Image gallery problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jazzerather, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. Jazzerather

    Jazzerather Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    43
    0
    15
    Croatia
    I have a problem that every time I open the gallery I got a list of all possible pictures (including thumbs and icons) and it counts over 2000 all kind of images. Most of them are just variation of icons in different sizes and all kind of graphic from different apps.

    It is painfully slow to open (gallery loads 5-10 minutes) or to find anything so I'm wondering is there any way to avoid loading of all images and restrict gallery to search/open only selected folders in the phone.

    I don't get it how anybody else didn't find this as a problem?

    Is there any app that can do the same? Paid apps are not available for me from the market so it should be free.

    I appreciate any kind of help.

    Thank you, Jazz.
     

    Advertisement

  2. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009

    Jul 31, 2009
    550
    17
    63
    I have this problem! No idea how to fix it though - I think it might have started when I installed a photo frame widget,bt stayed when I uninstalled it. Can't say for sure though
     
  3. UKLooney

    UKLooney Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    79
    1
    16
    Software Dev
    UK
    This might work, it is suppose to work OK for spurious mp3 files

    1. On your computer, open Notepad or any other text editor
    2. Save the blank file with the filename “.nomedia”, make sure that the Save as type is set as “All Files” instead of “Text documents”
    3. Copy that file to the folder on your SD card containing picture files you don’t want to show up in the gallery. (Example: If you want to block aDyno image files from coming up, place the .nomedia file in the sdcard/aDyno folder)
    4. Reboot your phone and hopefully the unwanted files should no longer be viewable.
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
     
  5. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    its an android thing.
     
  6. UKLooney

    UKLooney Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    79
    1
    16
    Software Dev
    UK
    Just tried it and works OK for pictures too.
     
  7. Jazzerather

    Jazzerather Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    43
    0
    15
    Croatia
    Than you very much... It is not perfect but it works. Saved my believe in my Galaxy and Android ;).

    Update: There is no need to reboot, just place the file in the folder you want to 'mask' images and that's it. Works immediately.
     
  8. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    i'm pretty sure you could also find an alternative gallery app from the market that lets you filter the directories
     
  9. UKLooney

    UKLooney Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    79
    1
    16
    Software Dev
    UK
    There must be an easier way to do this...

    Seems like a waste of an app for this simple task. Should I bother?
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    what? creating a file called .nomedia and copying it to the area you dont want displayed?

    if you have astro you can then copy the file on the device to where ever pretty easy
     
  11. UKLooney

    UKLooney Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    79
    1
    16
    Software Dev
    UK
    It would be neat though, if astro had the facility to mark/unmark a folder as 'nomedia'
     

Share This Page

Loading...