1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Image Quality issues....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nolimit06, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. nolimit06

    nolimit06 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Sorry to create another thread but I recently flashed a sense rom and went back to Decks and now my image quality is horrible. Everything I look at has a really bad gradient on my images. I have download images from the browsers, wallpaper apps and even transferee a uncompressed image from my computer and they all look like that. Its like my phone went from 32-bit to 16-bit image quality.

    Does anyone have any suggestions as to what this is?
     

    Advertisement

  2. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    I have never heard of anything like that before...

    maybe a bad flash?
    Try wiping cache and davlik, if that doesn't work, try the rom again..

    Unless someone else has a better/easier suggestion.
    Good luck.
     
    argedion and ocnbrze like this.
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah going back and forth from sense or aosp or vice versa always make sure that you wipe really well.
     
    argedion and nolimit06 like this.
  4. nolimit06

    nolimit06 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    I always run vr _superwipe twice but I am using the new amon RA recovery version 3 I think...
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i would also wipe dalvik cache, cache, and data as well as using superwipe. you can also wipe everything else except for sd card.
     
    nolimit06 likes this.
  6. nolimit06

    nolimit06 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    I'll give it a go, might have missed something in this new recovery. I think I am going to switch back to 2.3 :p
     
  7. nolimit06

    nolimit06 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Here is a example of what I am seeing on my phone. I am in the process of re-doing everything from scratch and I am going to flash the CM7 nightly and see if it is any different from Decks.

    [​IMG]
     
    kryptonyt likes this.
  8. nolimit06

    nolimit06 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    I think I might have figured out my problem. I use Go Launcher EX and there is a setting to enable High Quality Drawing and it is unchecked by default. This seems to have fixed my problem but I still get the effect when downloading pictures, is this due to compression during the download?
     
  9. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Have you tried to disable the go launcher and look at things with the launcher that is included with the Rom?
    Try that and see if it makes a difference.
     
  10. nolimit06

    nolimit06 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Yea when I did a fresh install last night I used to stock launcher and it appeared to be ok, some images are worse than others. I am thinking it's a compression issue with some of the images I am finding but who knows. I might download ADW or LauncerPro and see if there is a difference.
     
  11. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    If your on the new Amon Ra its really easy to wipe everything but SD card. Literally just go right down the list and stop before you get to the bottom
     
    nolimit06 likes this.
  12. teemu

    teemu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Hey it seems that you ha e solved your problem, but I am getting this too with the GO Launcher Ex, for some reason. I didn t use to get it, even with High Image Quality Drawer off. It' so frustrating, anyone have a clue? I don't get this issue with original Motoblur, but with all launchers I do. I get lag with setting on so I know it used to be good. Could it have to do with downloading the launcher on 2.3.5? What version do you have nolimit06?
     
  13. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Welcome to the forums!!! :)

    I saw you reference Motoblur, are you on a Motorola handset?

    I'm not really experienced with anything root wise on the Motorola phones.
    Have you tried a cache partition and dalvik cache wipe?
    Have you tried a fresh install of your rom?
    Also try to completely uninstall the launcher, then reinstall.

    Might work. :eek:
     
  14. teemu

    teemu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    It seems that transparent widgets on my homescreen become worst. I remember that some transparent widgets like Spotify looked bad the first time I viewed it on 2.3.4, but then it would seem high quality all the time. Ever since going to 2.3.5 and reinstalli g GO Launcher I've had the problem with low quality icpns. Could it be the launcher not being compatible installing on 2.3.5?
     
  15. nolimit06

    nolimit06 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Make sure when you are using go launcher to enable hi-res graphics and it should solve your problem.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  16. teemu

    teemu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Hey, and thanks for the replies guys. I'm sure I will enjoy my stay in this great forum

    At first I thought this issue was phone related, but after resetting my phone to factory settings, and using Motorola RAZR's original Motoblur, everything was in high quality, and I had no problem with the smoothness of my phone.

    When I was on 2.3.4, I had no issues with low quality images on my homescreen when using GO Launcher EX, even with the highres image quality setting disabled. When enabling it, my phone lags a bit, and I then prefer it being disabled.

    Is there any way to cache the higher quality images on certain places, such as my home screen? For example, only use highres image on my widgets and background. Because it really seems nothing else is low quality, such as images on the web. They all look fine.

    PS: My phone is not rooted. My apologies for replying in this section of the forum. It may have caused some misunderstanding
     
  17. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    No worries about posting here, we're all more than happy to help. :)

    Just make sure you don't use any rooting advice from the evo forum. Doing so could brick your phone. :(

    If its all about general Android and launchers, you're all good. :D

    Also you could post up a question in your device General forum, you'll be suprised how much help you'll receive from everyone. :)
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...