1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Improving sound quality?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hYpHyPuRpLe, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. hYpHyPuRpLe

    hYpHyPuRpLe Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    351
    45
    53
    No job yet. Im underage
    Oakland, California
    Is there any way to improve the way music is played back through headphones? I have an iPod touch and it sounds waaaaaaay better than my phone. Is there any way to make my phone sound like the iPod? I've tried DSP manager but it didn't work, maybe I was just using it wrong. thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    DSP manager works good, if you configure the settings right. You have to enable every filter, booster and enable customizable EQ settings. Used it on my Huawei M835, sounded amazing LOL, so it should work without a hitch on the Connect ;)

    That's the only one I know of, there's probably a million more that are easier to use and/or sound better... I surf more than I listen to music on my phones,
     
  3. hYpHyPuRpLe

    hYpHyPuRpLe Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    351
    45
    53
    No job yet. Im underage
    Oakland, California
    Have you tried DSP Manager on the Connect?
     
  4. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    EEEEWWWW, the DSP manager lite from Play store sucks, if thats the one you're talking about.
     
  5. hYpHyPuRpLe

    hYpHyPuRpLe Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    351
    45
    53
    No job yet. Im underage
    Oakland, California
    I just downloaded the APK from xda and put it in my system/app folder but I can't seem to notice a difference
     
  6. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    I tried extracting the one I've used from an LG Optimus CM7 Zip folder. Installed it, and it FCs LOL... It has the blue/green spectrum graph icon. It doesn't like my phone :D
     
    hYpHyPuRpLe likes this.
  7. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    That's too bad. It works great on my Huawei :( I'll see if I can find a DSP.apk that works on our phones, unless somebody has a better free app that works :D

    EDIT: Stole DSP from a CM6 Ascend ZIP LOL.... It opens and stays running but you're right, the sound doesn't change. WTF is up with the Connect, and why EQ won't do anything? Maybe it's the music player? Maybe the DSP I'm using only works with CyanogenMod, since that's where I'm jacking it from?? Maybe if I extract theCM music player too? LOL I'll report back
     
    hYpHyPuRpLe likes this.
  8. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    Ok. I swapped connect music player out with CM6 music player. My phone did NOT like that move, FCs like a mofo. Reboot solved that and now CM player works fine now but still cant adjust audio quality... Dammit!!! :D Well Im out of ideas....
     
    hYpHyPuRpLe likes this.
  9. hYpHyPuRpLe

    hYpHyPuRpLe Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    351
    45
    53
    No job yet. Im underage
    Oakland, California
    Yeah I think you need the music player for Bluetooth to work correctly also. Thanks for trying to help. I'll ask someone that's running CM10 on their connect to try and install dsp or volume+ to see if it works. Thanks!
     
  10. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    Sure thing LOL.... Swapping the ZVA music app out with the CM wasn't the brightest thing to do. I screwed up my....keyboard auto correct??? Haha I dunno, wonder why BOConnect or ZVA doesn't allow system changes to audio. I'm curious, but glad to take one for the team anyway :D
     
    hYpHyPuRpLe likes this.
  11. NoMayoPlease

    NoMayoPlease Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012

    Jul 26, 2012
    35
    3
    16
    Try installing Beats Audio. You can get an app for it on the market or use Pimp My Rom.
     
  12. Dracconus

    Dracconus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    467
    117
    68
    Owner/C.E.O. - Tru-Tech Media Design Firm
    Dallas, Tx
    Or they could just use the thread I made telling how to get the REAL beats audio DSP filter to work on the phone that's on these forums... >.<
     
  13. hYpHyPuRpLe

    hYpHyPuRpLe Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    351
    45
    53
    No job yet. Im underage
    Oakland, California
    I will take a look at that. Thanks
     
  14. hYpHyPuRpLe

    hYpHyPuRpLe Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    351
    45
    53
    No job yet. Im underage
    Oakland, California
    Idk if I can really tell any difference. I don't think Beats did anything because I used a different file than the one you had provided. I'll test it out tomorrow. Is there any way to get DSP Manager working on stock?
     
  15. Dracconus

    Dracconus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    467
    117
    68
    Owner/C.E.O. - Tru-Tech Media Design Firm
    Dallas, Tx
    I'm not sure about getting DSP manager to work with stock. I'd ASSume that it's just a matter of finding a version that'll work with the revision of android you're running on, but it could be more complicated than that.
    Beats is really going to require a pair of headphones that have a good decoder or sound processor built in. Noise cancelling headphones (some of them) have these, but most don't as they're just vented to let a little sound out in order to drown away sound near the headphones. For beats to shine using just "any ol' headphone" won't really work. You may notice a small, medium, or even a huge difference but it would depend on your headset. I've got pictures up in the thread showing frequency spectrum readouts that clearly point out that the beats dsp does work, but to what avail is questionable to each person. The thing to point out here is that NONE of us, not even my audiophilistic ass, can hear like a computer can. Even in my car I've got six 5 1/4" cerwin vega speakers that range from 8-26,000 Khz and I STILL can't tell a huge difference between those and the stock speakers that only go up to 20,000hz. Probably because my ears have blown out from years of "pumpin' bass." Everyone will hear, and process things a little different depending on how bad their ear drums are, and how clogged their ears are, and how their brain interprets sound. I know that sounds stupid but that's my way of saying "a weetawd wown't heyr da sayme way we wheel." (No offense to anyone that's Intellectually Disabled. I'm just pointing out that due to certain situations people hear things differently.)
    Anyways, I'll check out getting dsp to work on a few different roms today, and will let you know what I find out if anything.
     
  16. droidlos

    droidlos Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012

    Jul 29, 2012
    35
    3
    26
    student .. ASE master mechanic
    Fort Worth, TX
    the eq in winamp pro seems, to me, to be superior to any other that i have used on the connect
     
  17. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    I couldn't get it to work on BOC. I mean, that's not an issue for me because I normally don't use any audio enhancing apps, I use decent quality earbuds, or I plug my phone into car stereo and use EQ controls on the radio itself instead. Honestly, I only tried DSP manager that comes with CM7, like on my M835 or Optimus M and found it works pretty well :) But.... why won't it work, does it have something to do with permission(s) required to change audio settings? That's kinda stupid. I already want to put a bullet through this phone, now we're up to two :mad:
     
  18. hYpHyPuRpLe

    hYpHyPuRpLe Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    351
    45
    53
    No job yet. Im underage
    Oakland, California
    Okay so I've looked through how to install DSP on a stock rom and it's always for different phones (obviously). What they all had in common though was that they removed any sort of audio proccessing software before installing DSP. Maybe we have to get rid or the stock Dolby thing so that they don't conflict. But removing Dolby might break the stock music player. Time to find out.
     
  19. ninjasinabag

    ninjasinabag Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    538
    164
    103
    Male
    you name it
    philadelphia, PA
    Ac!d mod. Solves everything. Add in pimp my beats from pimp my rom and you've got a deadly combo.

    (Edit) like wiping the system when you flash a rom, you should remove the correct libs when installing a new sound mod. Installing....saaaaaay, sony walkman on a device with dsp or beats installed will cause a double force-close that can turn your phone into a stuttering brick.
     

Share This Page

Loading...