• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

in desperate need of help!!

TeamPaul

Lurker
Jan 22, 2016
Hi guys!

I hope this isn't too long, but I just need to explain the situation. Please note, I'm a complete newbie with rooting etc, and have no interest in it, so please don't throw complicated terms or questions at me lol.

So, I bought a second hand phone after someone smashed my first contract note 3, then my second phone bricked out of nowhere, now I have more bad news.

I bought another second hand note 3, that was in mint Condition and it took me a while to figure out it was rooted. I assume someone used it as a toy and got bored, so decided to sell it on.

It had SuperSu already installed and I didn't think it was anything to begin with. So, I downloaded snap chat and it didn't work, after days of emailing the support team, they finally told me if a users phone is rooted snap chat will block the login. So then I took it to Google to find out how to check if you phone was rooted. In the search, super su appeared, and I figured that was pretty much my answer that my phone was rooted. So I then checked how to unroot. It told me to go to the settings of super su, and do full uninstall. After waiting for over 12 hours, it finally finished. I restarted the phone and it appeared that nothing had changed.

I still can't use apps like snap chat or make software updates, yet some root checkers tell me there is no root access, while another tells me the root isn't installed correctly. So to me, that means I have half a root? I tried to reroot the phone using super su, but it tells me there is no binary.

Now I have no idea what to do. I'm stuck in this mess, where I can't get rid of root but I can't use the phones update features etc.

Hope this all made sense, please help! !!

Thanks!
Paul

Reactions: argedion
Upvote 0