1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support In regards to the Dolphin browser....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by roccopewterss, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. roccopewterss

    roccopewterss Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    Hello all, been trolling for a while and finally decided to register.

    Quick question. I have loaded the Dolphin browser as my default browser and the google homepage is stuck in Spanish. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the app multiple times and nothing changes. The only way to view it in english is to scroll down to the bottom of the google homepage and press "Google.com in in English". Once I close the browser and come back its back in Spanish. Any ideas or suggestions? I'm sure its gotta be a simple fix but I just can not figure it out.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. chibucks

    chibucks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    412
    48
    43
    Does it do it if you use the stock browser? Haven't found a config option...
     
  3. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    I swear google used to do this to me from time to time when I'd access the mobile site on my old HTC Touch (WinMo). I remember it once being in spanish and once or twice in german... I think it would be back to english the next day, I know it never stayed around long enough for me to fret about it.
     
  4. arashed31

    arashed31 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    42
    1
    16
    Something similar to this happened to me on my Hero out of the box. The thumbnail was Chinese but when I loaded it up it was English. A few days later it loaded up Chinese again.
     
  5. decalex

    decalex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    265
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    265
    16
    38
    Graphic Designer/Art Director
    Orange County, CA
    I've noticed this happening, though rarely/sporadically. The most recent time, I had just installed Dolphin and logged into my gmail account--which loaded fine. I closed it out and later opened the default browser by accident, which was no longer logged in and came up in spanish. When I closed that and reopened Dolphin, it was fine. It seems like a google issue. I think it was doing this on my old treo pro too.
     
  6. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    75
    0
    15
    theres no multitouch for the moment right?:(
     
  7. chibucks

    chibucks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    412
    48
    43
    trick question... from what i was told... yes, it's capable... but no we don't have it with cupcake...
     
  8. Zumaki

    Zumaki Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    577
    26
    68
    The Moment has multi-touch capability, but it won't work until we get Android version 2.0
     
  9. jeffdlb

    jeffdlb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    273
    20
    38
    Maryland, USA
    Correction: You weren't "trolling," you were "lurking" (reading without writing anything). This is reasonable, even recommended at first. A troll is someone who deliberately posts something inflammatory in order to garner outraged responses. That is dishonorable. For more information see Troll (Internet) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia and Lurker - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia .
     
  10. roccopewterss

    roccopewterss Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    23
    0
    15

    Seriously!

    Well that's what I meant.........lurker.

    Google homepage is still giving me the same Spanish homepage on the Dolphin browser.
     
  11. jeffdlb

    jeffdlb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    273
    20
    38
    Maryland, USA
    I will try to answer your actual question instead of hijacking your thread (and I wasn't trying to criticize, by the way--I just wouldn't want someone who was not a troll to call themselves one).

    When I visit Google on my laptop there is a link to the right of the search box labeled "Language Tools." That leads to a page where I can set my default language. Presumably it sends you an HTTP cookie to remember your choice. If you have turned off cookies it may prevent your browser from sending back its preference. I don't have Moment so I can't test this with Dolphin.

    As to why your default location was set to Spanish, perhaps this is related to the problem where the GPS in some phones claims the user is in a distant land instead of near home? This is sheer speculation on my part.
     
  12. SuperHero

    SuperHero Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009

    Sep 17, 2009
    10
    0
    35
    Bay Area, CA
    Somewhat unrelated, but after installing dolphin browser on my moment it will not open and force closes whenever I try to open it. Anyone else having this issue?
     
  13. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    75
    0
    15
    one great thing ive noticed is that before the default browser would hang and pages would not load. since ive been using dolphin this has not happened . 1+ dolphin :D
     
  14. flu13

    flu13 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    600
    24
    83
    I loaded up the Dolphin browser. I didn't see anything right off that made me think it was better than the default browser. The tabs are nice, but I didn't see a way to zoom in/out like with the default. Am I missing some things here?
     
  15. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    +1 here... dolphin seemed like a nice alternative, but I didn't see anything that made me want to use it, at least until we get 2.0 and multi-touch zoom. The gestures seem like a good idea but to me, having to click the corner before you use the gesture negates any convenience that they would provide.
     
  16. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    75
    0
    15
    to zoom hold your finger down to bring the zoom menu around your finger. you can back page with the arrow button and everything else with the nifty menu. i like to hide the tabs and browse that way also i turn off the notifications for RSS feeds. it looks very clean no address bar and i get to surf very fast
    http://browser.mgeek.mobi/features take a look at the features , i did not know it did so much!
     
  17. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    alright I checked the link out, maybe I'll give dolphin another go. the only thing that I really missed from the default browser was that awesome button in the lower left corner with the four arrows pointing in that made it real easy to zoom out, zip to another area on the page and zoom back in. I can't find anything like that on dolphin.
     
  18. flu13

    flu13 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    600
    24
    83
    That page does reveal a bit more, but it doesn't tell me HOW to do all that stuff. Is there a good user guide anywhere?
     
  19. flu13

    flu13 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    600
    24
    83
    I just found that there's an option in the settings, "Show original zoom button." It gives you the +/- and the 4-arrows buttons from the default browser.
     
  20. SuperHero

    SuperHero Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009

    Sep 17, 2009
    10
    0
    35
    Bay Area, CA
    After uninstalling and installing again it works perfectly. This browser is great, tons of neat options like having tabs, being able to hide the tabs, custom skins, and overall quickness. Definitely would recommend.
     
  21. decalex

    decalex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    265
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    265
    16
    38
    Graphic Designer/Art Director
    Orange County, CA
    Check out the themes if you haven't already. (in the marketplace). There's an ice theme, a fire one, and a recent cherry one. (I don't think those are the exact names). They're pretty cool.
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...