1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root in the process of rooting , step faild

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 1zoor, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. 1zoor

    1zoor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    6
    4
    6
    I tried to read to fix my issue but haven't been able to.
    When I selected y for clockwork flash,
    And recover. I got error .
    I tried to put it on my SD card power up in go to recovery and load it from SD card but phone has black screen with sync sign ,then a triangle sign pops up in red with ! In middle of it .
    My phone is s off
    Thanks
    I might add my phone is 2.3.3 and also tried to download Rom manager and recover ,flash clock works that way but told me my phone was not rooted . ? Phone says s off.
     

    Advertisement

    yumup4dayz likes this.
  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    So you have S-off.

    Might as well skip CWM and go right to amon ra, its better and you'll do it later anyway

    Go to this thread and download it and follow the directions there for installing a recovery.
     
    ocnbrze, argedion, NaterTots and 2 others like this.
  3. 1zoor

    1zoor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    6
    4
    6
    Ok thanks . I read a little about
     
    ocnbrze, argedion and dustwun77 like this.
  4. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    If you have s-off, then you are partially rooted. Rom Manager requires the Super User apk to allow permission for it to function. Without having a custom recovery, you have not been able to flash the Superuser file to allow use of root only apps. I would do as Rxpert said and install Amon RA recovery instead of trying to get Clockwork recovery. Once you get that done, you can either flash the Superuser file or flash a custom rom(that includes the SU app).
     
    argedion and Rxpert83 like this.
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Thanks Xtreme, SU was a core piece of the process I forgot
     
  6. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    No problem. Without recovery he is still basically stock anyway so one thing at a time. Just trying to let him know why Rom Manager wouldn't work.
     
    ocnbrze and NaterTots like this.
  7. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1,094
    844
    213
    Male
    Illinois
    Please stay away from rom manager. We will explaine once we get u up and going with a recovery.
     
    dustwun77, argedion and ocnbrze like this.
  8. 1zoor

    1zoor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    6
    4
    6
    Thanks for the help. I hate asking question but after completing steps above and getting rid of Rom manager I'm not sure my Su. Was installed . I have it on my SD card in zip .
    Phone reads
    revolutiony
    Supersonic eut 3 ship s off
    Hoot 6.16.1002

    The Su. File is 2.3.6.3-efgn-si...zip
    My phone is HTC EVO 2.3.3 what is a good Rom if I mostly use phone as tethering and internet. Thanks
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well you really do not need su if you plan on flashing a custom rom. i would recommend trying out mikg3.0 it is tweaked to be very fast.

    and as far as tethering goes the rom has the option. but we have a new policy in place for this site on it. please read this:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/480569-psa-about-tethering.html
     
  10. 1zoor

    1zoor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    6
    4
    6
    For some reason mike 3.0 with updates , univ freedom , but its the. Mike 3.0 that is making about 6 app.s force , most being Google apps. close and anything I try to open. I installed it , installed it 3 times same thing. I saw video max made from HTC EVO sight . He said about one in 50 phones do this , just wipe catch , reboot few times . I wiped , before and after few times . Thanks
     
  11. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    You should be wiping everything except the sd card in amon-ra. Wipe system, boot, data, sd-ext, cache and dalvik cache. Do that twice to be sure, then select flash .zip from sd card, select your MikG file. Make sure you wipe everything prior to flashing a new Rom, otherwise elements from the last Rom might be left over and Bork things.
     
  12. 1zoor

    1zoor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    6
    4
    6
    Ok, thanks . I did every thing but wipe system ,boot and data ,SD ext . I will just have to restore my contacts and I'm guessing this will clear my SD card also?
    Thanks a lot for your help.
     
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no it will not unless you wipe sd card. the sd ext is if you have partitioned your card. it will not hurt to wipe it if you have not partitioned. wiping sd card will erase your card on the other hand.
     
    Granite1 likes this.
  14. 1zoor

    1zoor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    6
    4
    6
    Thanks, I was having issues finding that answer .
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...