1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Incoming SIP on Rogers 4G?

Discussion in 'Rogers' started by theassman97, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. theassman97

    theassman97 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hi all... Just got my first Android phone (Motorola RAZR XT910) and I was happy to find out that I could use my existing SIP service with it.

    I currently have a Freephoneline account that has been working fine for a year now. I downloaded CsipSimple and got it all configured on my RAZR.

    I first tested it over Wifi. Everything worked out perfectly. Registration was good, call quality was good, and both incoming and outgoing calls work great.

    However, over the Rogers mobile 4G connection, incoming calls do not come through. Everything else is great just as described above, and call quality is great, but I simply cannot receive incoming calls at all. My callers just hear a busy signal. No voicemail greeting, no ringing, just a busy signal.

    Any ideas from other users that are more experienced than I?

    Thanks in advance.

    Jeff
     

    Advertisement

  2. vikingisson

    vikingisson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    It should work fine, I've been doing it for years. You have to configure it to register on 3G/WiFI/etc. The default is no or WiFI only. You'll eat more battery though. If the provider allows TCP then choose that. Freephoneline does free forwarding so you could set it to ring your cell for inbound and then use SIP for outbound. That uses less battery. Or save money and use a data only plan once you get SIP working fully.
     
  3. theassman97

    theassman97 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    2
    0
    5

    Hi, thanks for the reply!

    I do have it set to register on all connections (3G / 4G / wifi / etc). I just can't seem to figure this one out. It registers perfectly over the Rogers network and is ready to accept calls. However, I can only make outgoing calls.

    I can't find the problem as to why incoming calls get a busy signal over the Rogers network, but ring just fine over wifi. The funny thing is, if I turn my phone off or un-register the SIP provider, then callers get my SIP voicemail. But if SIP is registered over the Rogers network, they don't even get that - just the busy signal. Maybe CsipSimple is the problem here? I wonder if another client will fix it.

    Thanks again. I appreciate the advice. Maybe one day I'll crack this thing!
     

Share This Page

Loading...