1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Increase RAM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by apinya24, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. apinya24

    apinya24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012

    Sep 4, 2012
    29
    1
    16
    If I increase my RAM will it improve my phone at all? I am also thinking about bloatware removal, but am unsure what really constitutes bloatware. There are apps I don't use on my phone but can't seem to remove even though I am rooted. Any ideas why that? is
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,004
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,004
    22,810
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Hello there apinya24!
    I moved your thread into the root forum for your device as you are rooted:)
    As far as increasing the RAM for your device, I don't think that is possible. A device comes with "X" amount of RAM and is not able to be increased without replacing components in the device. I hope I understood your question correctly;)

    And as far as removing bloat, I would suggest getting Titanium Backup from the PlayStore, then if you can swing it, buy the ProKey for TB which will allow you to first freeze the suspect bloat apps. If your phone acts fine with the app frozen, you can backup the app, then remove it. All with TB:)

    I am not familiar with your device enough to tell you what is, or what is not bloat, but like I said, TB is a great app to use for freezing, backing up, or removal of system apps:)
     
  3. apinya24

    apinya24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012

    Sep 4, 2012
    29
    1
    16
    Thanks for the reply. As I understand it I can allocate some of the memory on my SD card (now internal on my phone) to RAM with an application. Looking into this it appears that there is a possibility of damaging my SD card because of the constant rewriting though.

    I have TB installed on my phone but will need the pro version to do what you suggest. Is that right?
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,004
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,004
    22,810
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you

    Yes, I don't think the free version will allow you to freeze apps if I remember correctly. You can try it, but if you don't see that option, then you need the paid version (the ProKey) i.e. don't delete the free version as the ProKey just unlocks the free version and provides you with more options...follow? :)

    As far as that RAM and allocating memory on the sd card, I'm sorry but I really don't know that much about it :eek:
     
  5. milesbennetdyson

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    If you google something like 'safe apps to remove samsung galaxy' you'll get a rough idea of what to remove - there's spreadsheets and threads all over the place. Don't just use one source though. Check a few and if they say it's safe give it a go.

    I've removed loads of stuff by backing up the app, then uninstalling with Titanium. I haven't bought the pro key so haven't frozen anything. I haven't had any problems yet. If something goes wrong I could reinstall it using TB.
     
  6. apinya24

    apinya24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012

    Sep 4, 2012
    29
    1
    16
    Thanks but my phone has unrooted itself so I'm stuck for the moment
     
  7. DarnJhud

    DarnJhud Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012

    Nov 7, 2012
    28
    1
    16
    Male
    Computer Science Student
    Earth
    hey, just found a list of bloatwares in our ace 2. LOL sorry 2 months of late reply, I just saw this post xD

    BLOATWARES WHICH SAFE TO REMOVE - Galaxy Ace 2
    (you can remove app using root explorer just navigate to "/system/app/" then delete apps which is safe to delete)

    and ohh, about increasing the ram(display info of ram) its possible.
    ace 2 have 768MB RAM but it only display like 400+mb? i dont remember but I now have 627mb ram.
    I didnt notice any improvement in the performance tho, if ur interested just follow this guide made my Mc Smokey he also made a thread on how to root u should check that too. hes awesome, very easy to follow!

    this is to increase your ram display info.
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-ga...laxy-ace-2-gt-i8160-guide-flash-firmware.html

    this is how to root and how to use Link2SD must have app if you dont wanna buy TB.
    http://androidforums.com/ace-2-all-...galaxy-ace-2-gt-i8160-jb-4-1-2-easy-root.html
     
  8. martinisok

    martinisok Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    13
    1
    16
    If you goto advance settings and limit the processes to 4 this would release a lot of ram.
    But because of a memory leak in android system it fills back up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...