1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Incredible suddenly gone unstable.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rachel A, Aug 9, 2012.

  1. Rachel A

    Rachel A Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,459
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    2,459
    869
    213
    Female
    DBA & Developer
    In front of my S3
    Phones be fine for the past year - the odd reboot one a week or so but nothing severe.

    I rebooted it on Sunday trying to fix what I thought was a GPS problem (which was nothing to do with GPS and more down to me being a muppet - it happens on occasions) and ever since then it's been horribly unstable.

    It'll boot up OK and generally stay operational for so long as I don't actually use it. Fire up the browser or take a phone call? 5 minutes or so later it will just reboot.

    It's got to the point I barely touch it because I feel if I do I'll get that bloody 'DROID!!!' within a few minutes later.

    Still running on FroYo. Rooted but not updated any root stuff in over a week - and even then it was only TB. I always wait until I've Nandroided the phone before I updated things like BusyBox or AdAway just in case.

    I'm thinking of dropping back to an early August Nandroid just to see what it's like then, but in the meantime if anyone has any ideas then feel free to chime in.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Could be anything really... you getting any force closes?

    Since you have a nandroid.... it might just be worthwhile to boot into clockwork and do a factory reset just to see how it runs without anything installed. If that doesn't work, I'd copy everything off the SD card, format it(to fat32 / no quick format), and copy everything back.

    Could also just be a bad battery or the battery may be losing contact with the phone terminals.
     
    Rachel A likes this.
  3. Rachel A

    Rachel A Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,459
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    2,459
    869
    213
    Female
    DBA & Developer
    In front of my S3
    No FCs per se but it is horribly slow. I'm also thinking of moving back onto ADW from Go since I have it installed.

    As you quite rightly point out, it's an early stage of the game and, especially being rooted, I have many options before me.

    Think I'll be doing another Nandroid today and then try the reset for S&Gs.
     
  4. Rachel A

    Rachel A Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,459
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    2,459
    869
    213
    Female
    DBA & Developer
    In front of my S3
    Found a way to stop it rebooting : airline mode. Makes the phone next to useless though..
     
  5. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Interesting, I wonder if reflashing your radio may help.
     
  6. Rachel A

    Rachel A Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,459
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    2,459
    869
    213
    Female
    DBA & Developer
    In front of my S3
    Wondering if it's simpler than that; I have auto updates turned on and I've a suspicion that it's rebooting during app installs (this has happened before on an older Incredible) .

    I'll try this theory out later on by turning off airplane mode and doing an app update and see what happens.
     
  7. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    If that's the case, it would lead me to believe some system/app files are tangled. Are you still stock other than root access? Because you could try out safe mode:
    http://m-support.verizonwireless.com/clc/devices/knowledge_base.html?id=31062
     
    Rachel A likes this.
  8. Rachel A

    Rachel A Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,459
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    2,459
    869
    213
    Female
    DBA & Developer
    In front of my S3
    That would be correct. Stock rooted FroYo. No overclocking or anything else.

    Thanks for the link - I'll check it out.
     
  9. Rachel A

    Rachel A Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,459
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    2,459
    869
    213
    Female
    DBA & Developer
    In front of my S3
    Solved my problem. Replaced my aging Incredible with a bright shiny new S3!
     
  10. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Lol, that's the best fix.
     

Share This Page

Loading...