1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Independant application volume control

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by stidf, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. stidf

    stidf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I was just wondering if there was a way to control the volume for each application independently. For example I was using my droid for GPS navigation and music in my car the other day and kept getting shouted at by the navigation since the volume was turned up for the music. Needless to say it gets really annoying fast. This problem stems from the fact that all the apps have their volume control handled by the media volume control.

    Does anyone know of a work around?
     

    Advertisement

  2. srothkin

    srothkin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    97
    3
    16
    Ossining, NY
    FWIW, on the Motorola Droid, touching the volume rocker while in car dock and navigation mode shows that it is adjusting navigation volume.
     
  3. fredphoesh

    fredphoesh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    36
    0
    15
    East Grinstead, England
    volume control in android is poor at best.
    you blast your ears when someone calls when you have headphones on, and have to switch on your phone to see if that noise was an sms or email or other notification.

    really poor.
    I hope that changes very soon.
     
  4. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    not to mention, when you have headphones without a mic, you have to unplug them when someone calls you (because the phone's mic isn't operational otherwise) and then quickly plug them back in before the call ends and your mp3s start blasting from the loudspeaker in a quiet crowded train
     
  5. fredphoesh

    fredphoesh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    36
    0
    15
    East Grinstead, England

    I'm using a hero on 1.5

    Has 2.1 sorted these issues out or are they still so bad with the nexus?


    Cheers,
    Mark.
     
  6. srothkin

    srothkin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    97
    3
    16
    Ossining, NY
    On the Motorola Droid, the phone's mic DOES work with headphones that don't have a mic.
     

Share This Page

Loading...