1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Indulge (metropcs) root and general?'s

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Androidkucool, Dec 2, 2011.

  1. Androidkucool

    Androidkucool Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    174
    13
    58
    Hi everyone, for me, anything about root is a brand new world (but i've done my iphone unlocked and jailbroken by myself), then I've moved to metropcs until now (my phone is samsung caliber with other family members). I just bought a used indulge (metropcs). I have some questions about it:
    1. How to determine if my indulge has been rooted or not (i've asked on the "introduction" thread that this is the first step i have to see when buying a used android phone)?
    2. Is it possible to trans my phone# now to my indulge?(because it is not buying from them/ i've not asked them yet for sure)
    3. What is the order: verifying the esn to them, verifying the root or not, ask the phone's # trans, activated the phone, then root thing OR.. any other? or root thing then activated?
    4. On the "all things root"/indulge; I see there is at least two files that are needed (windows driver and aio file) and a link to the premium ones; are those similar files basically or two different things?
    5. Would somebody please can point to me a link about how to/step by step to root this phone because on all thing root(indulge section); i dont see (or maybe I misread) an order how to root the indulge like the way on jailbreaking/unlocking an iPhone (first, to push the power button for certain seconds then following to push the home button while pushing the power button for certain seconds, then click some steps on the jailbreaking program..etc...). i see on others the step by step but it is not for indulge.
    I am sorry if my question is soooo.....noob; yes, i am totally noob here :eek:*
    *I wish i can ask these on the member introduction but it is "not" allowed" to ask question there.
     

    Advertisement

  2. confed

    confed Android Expert
    Rank:
     #135
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,076
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    1,076
    377
    183
    Male
    Philly
    BlingItOn likes this.
  3. Androidkucool

    Androidkucool Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    174
    13
    58
    Thank you at last..., but I have read it already. That step by step instruction seems very nice organized (Konane);it is noob friendly. By using that very nice tut, I believe many people have no problem (we can see them on his thread; much much... people are happy than problems; in fact, almost all ppl who don't have problem will not ask/reply on a thread).
    Also, according to that tut, phone has to be rooted. I am almost sure to make a phone rooted is not a rocket science; I think I've misread somewhere about how to step by step to root indulge on the internet/others. I'll double check. Thanks again..cheer:)
     
  4. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    If ur looking to just root your phone then the AIO will give you that option, if you want to root & install a ROM then the link above to Basix will take care of both ; )
     
  5. Androidkucool

    Androidkucool Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    174
    13
    58
    I did it!!:D about an hour after I activated my phone. But the battery is like crazy..compare with my previous metropcs phone (caliber; i know it is NOT android but it's about 3 times). Now, I have no idea to compare between before and after rooted about the battery consumption. How do i know if my setting is *good enough for the battery or not?
    * So far I've done to save battery: least for the brightness with checked on the auto, no wifi, no gps, no vibrate at all; what else I should do? last question (maybe is the dumbest question), is that "market" thing only available after rooted or has been there before it was rooted? This "market" thing remind me a "cydia" on iPhone hacking/jailbraking; cydia only availabe after being jailbroken/rooted; I did not even mention this "market" thing before rooted thing. What is the biggest deal between after and before rooted/mod rom applied (metropcs on my case)? On an iPhone the biggest one is you can use it with any gsm in the world. I only used this indulge without rooted for less than 30 minutes.
     
  6. fdbryant3

    fdbryant3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    770
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    770
    228
    103
    Male
    Best thing you can do for battery life - is do a search of the forum and buy an extended battery. Yes, it will make you phone look like a brick but you will be much happier for it.
     
  7. Androidkucool

    Androidkucool Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    174
    13
    58
    "........phone look like a brick...." :eek: A...what? Hm...I'll try to get the extn version if it is not thicker than the regular one. Also, I mention there is no sound at all when I set a timer. Previously, the phone had no sound at all but i deleted something...no sound thingS in the memory card root, then there is sound, but i did not check the timer/alarm sound on that time. Did i miss something?
     
  8. tiede

    tiede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    1,494
    522
    213
    Male
    curious, aren't we?
    Orlando, Fl
    Alarms have sounds.
    Currently, there's no way to set a sound for the timers. That's a known Basix bug.
    sorry mate.
     
    Androidkucool likes this.
  9. Androidkucool

    Androidkucool Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    174
    13
    58
    "....Currently, there's no way to set a sound for the timers...." I am the parking meter abuser...... Yes, you r right the alarm work; it is not a big deal I still can use the alarm. Thanks to point out this bug....
     
  10. Androidkucool

    Androidkucool Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    174
    13
    58
    I am curious about "root explorer/ ES file explorer" things. I see on the all root, somebody suggested go to menu, setting, scroll down to the bottom,but I don't see anything close with those above. Also, about how to go to the rom files thing; can somebody point me about this please? Thanks...

    Add: are those from the market? or come with basix?
     
  11. Androidkucool

    Androidkucool Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    174
    13
    58
    last night, i did battery calibration with CWM (yellow) in rom manager. I could not do it by the purple one. But right now, it's about 65% already (only some texting and calling). Tonight, I'll do it again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...