1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Insert Coin Rom question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TV!, Jul 4, 2011.

  1. TV!

    TV! Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    52
    4
    16
    Hi Guys,

    I rooted last week and was using a stock rom with A2sd+ i down loaded quick system info and my EXT3 partition at that time was set at 0.98gb and had over 800mb free.

    Yesterday I downloaded InsertCoin_GB_Sense2.1_A2SD+_1.0.8.zip and wiped my phone and then flashed the new ROM.

    Now when I access quick info it shows

    Sd Card Storage
    Total 6.40gb Free 2.95GB

    A2SD storage
    Total 0.98gb Free 413mb

    Internal Storage
    Total 148mb Free 89.40mb

    System Storage
    Total 250mb Free 8.30mb

    System Cache
    Total 202mb Free 202mb

    I only have 47 apps that I have downloaded and They only take up about 150mb so do you think my A2SD storage looks right ?

    Does part of this ROM take over the EXT3 partition ?

    Sorry for the questions im still learning slowly :D

    Again thanks for any replies
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I think these gb sense Roms ship some Rom components to sd ext too
     
    TV! likes this.
  3. TV!

    TV! Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    52
    4
    16
    Thanks for that SU I guess thats why they recommend the 1gb partition then. If it was only a 512mb partition I would be snookered.

    It does seem to be using a hell of a lot though.

    So much for me sticking to a stock ROM eh :D

    Quite liking this ROM so far but we will see how long that lasts for.
     
  4. TV!

    TV! Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    52
    4
    16
  5. handy5876

    handy5876 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Your cache partition is showing 202 mb whereas it can't be more than 40 mb for original partition table. qsi is somehow putting a twist into reading the cache sizes for me too. I rely more on freespace.
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    More likely the Rom symlinks cache to ext to allow use of hboot partition tables
     
  7. handy5876

    handy5876 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    No. cache is not symlinked. Only data/app and data/appsecure.
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Actually, pretty sure Baadnewz uses an expandable ramdisk for cache doesn't he?
     
  9. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    Personally i wouldn't worry too much about all those figures, insert coin roms do use part of the ext partition to be able to run properly.
    These roms are based on GB & as such are too large to use just internal memory, after all HTC are cutting things out of the rom to get GB to run on the desire.
    Insert coin also has some sense 3 included, the only time to worry is if the rom is unstable otherwise just enjoy the experience.
     
    TV! likes this.
  10. TV!

    TV! Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    52
    4
    16
    Thanks for the replies guys, so part of the ROM is on the EXT partition then. So see if this is the case would it be worth while my getting a new SD card. My Current card is only a 8GB class 2 I got it free from t-mobile.

    I was thinking of getting a 16GB card anyway , would I notice any difference with a faster class of card.

    Loving the ROM as is at the moment and dont have any issues.
     
  11. DC E1G

    DC E1G Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    147
    11
    38
    Canada
    You might notice somewhat of a difference, I can't really say, because I've had a 16 GB class 6 for as long as I've been rooted. Some people claim to notice a big difference when upgrading to a higher speed card, while others say they don't notice the change. In the end, it really comes down to what is on the card and what you're doing with it.
     
    TV! likes this.
  12. TV!

    TV! Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    52
    4
    16
    Thanks for the reply.

    However I have reverted back to basic stock froyo rom with a2sd+ as I was having a few issues with insert coin.

    Dont get me wrong it was nice for a couple of days but the battery gets eaten alot quicker and I also had a couple of instances when turing it on where it just hung and i had to do a battery pull. And to be honest I cant be bothered with that I want my phone to work above all else the rest is purely cosmetic.

    Glad I tried it tho made me alot more confident about putting roms on and making recovery's etc.

    Thanks for all the assistance folks.
     
  13. DC E1G

    DC E1G Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    147
    11
    38
    Canada
    I'm running InsertCoin Nightly v51 right now and I too am thinking of changing. All the Sense goodies are nice, but the battery drain is just too much at times. If you're ever interested in a solid ROM that "just works," check out LeeDroid. Lee's ROMs are very stable; not fancy, but a solid daily driver if you dig Sense.
     
    TV! likes this.
  14. TV!

    TV! Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    52
    4
    16
    Thanks for the tip I might check out Leedroid at some point but to be honest I think I might just leave it just now im quite happy with what I have got.

    I have been tinkering with the dam thing constantly for over a week think I will have a wee break :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...