1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Inserting new line in voice input

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RBEmerson, Jul 20, 2013.

  1. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    546
    29
    68
    Retired!
    SE PA
    This is probably more of an Android issue than a RAZR issue but...

    Is there a way to insert a line break or "new line" when using voice input? I wanted to build a list in a to-do app but the only solution I could come up with was to drop out of voice mode, hit the ENTER key, and go back to voice input. Klunky, klunky, klunky...
     

    Advertisement

  2. puregolda

    puregolda Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    11
    1
    16
    Female
    Comm Property Mgr
    So Calif
    Say "new line".
     
    RBEmerson likes this.
  3. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    546
    29
    68
    Retired!
    SE PA
    Well, well, well... when I say "newline" (words run together), it works like a charm. Thanks!
     
  4. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    546
    29
    68
    Retired!
    SE PA
    At least some punctuation also can be spoken. Where is Voice Input documented (i.e., where's a list of command words)?
     
  5. redwoodtwig

    redwoodtwig Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013

    Oct 15, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    When I say it slow enough, I see the words. If I run it together, the cursor moves to the right, inserting a space rather than going down to the next line.

    :eek:
     
  6. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    546
    29
    68
    Retired!
    SE PA
    [/shrug] All I can say is it works for me. I wish I could suggest an alternative to the problem but I'm out of ideas.
     

Share This Page

Loading...