1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Insistent sign in to network pop up

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Rio Rita, Jun 15, 2021.

  1. Rio Rita

    Rio Rita Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hi, I just joined the forum because I need some help.

    I have a cheap Chinese phone which is almost 5 years old, but it has been fine until yesterday.
    I suddenly started getting "sign in to network" messages for a strange network which is in Chinese so I don't understand it. It keeps popping up about every 5 minutes, even though I am already signed in to my home wifi network. It has a https address which is dnspod.qcloud.com which seems to be something to do with website design. When I look on my wifi available list it is not there. I turned off the notification of available networks and rebooted twice but it still appears. Its driving me mad, can anyone suggest anything other than get a new phone, because I cant afford one at present, or I definitely would! Thanks. Screenshot_2021-06-16-01-26-19.jpg

     


  2. Best Answer:
    Post #53 by r0mick, Jun 28, 2021 (2 points)

    1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!


      Download

       
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!

    try putting the phone into safe mode. it being a chinese phone i have no idea how to do that.

    maybe @mikedt can translate it as well.
     
    Dannydet, mikedt and Rio Rita like this.
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好

    Qcloud is a cloud and internet services company, run by Tencent. That's a landing and login page for a website that's been suspended. It basically states "This website is temporarily unavailable.". "This website is not setup according to the rules of the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology".

    Looks like your China phone is trying to connect to this server, but the server has apparently been shut down for not complying with the internet laws of China. .

    Is this the phone's stock internet browser showing this? Try disabling the stock internet browser app, and install another browser instead, like Chrome or Firefox.
     
    #3 mikedt, Jun 16, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2021
  5. mikedt

    mikedt 你好

    If the phone still shows the same thing in safe mode, then it's very likely hard-coded into the phone's firmware to ping this server, and if it gets an error, it throws up a browser web-view page. That's my guess. In which case there's probably not that can be done, given what this phone is.
     
  6. Rio Rita

    Rio Rita Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Thank you, that does explain a lot! I thought it was a wifi sign in because of the header, its exactly the same when it offers me wifi on the bus.

    I use Chrome, but it doesn't look like its on chrome - I will disable all the stuff I don't use and see if it goes - I hope Im not stuck with it or its new phone time as it interrupts me about every 5 or 10 minutes!
     
    ocnbrze and mikedt like this.
  7. puppykickr

    puppykickr Android Expert

  8. Rio Rita

    Rio Rita Newbie
    Thread Starter

     
  9. Rio Rita

    Rio Rita Newbie
    Thread Starter

    That a good idea, I will definitely check that out.

    I have been unable to work out how to boot in safe mode on this phone. It doesn't come up with the option when I follow instructions for similar phones.

    It hasn't appeared so often today, I am down to about once every half hour, so maybe it will get bored....
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  10. Trom

    Trom Android Enthusiast

    My assumption would be that your phone's been connecting to that site for years, you just didn't know it until they went offline.
     
    Rio Rita, mikedt and puppykickr like this.
  11. James Brown60

    James Brown60 Lurker

    Thanks for that tip. I seem to have shut it down. Unfortunately there seems to be a tie-up between the call-out and the clock function and now the clock is weird. No matter. The phone must go. But at least this way I can take my time over the decision.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  12. mikedt

    mikedt 你好

    OK that confirms what I initially thought. The phone is trying to ping this server in China for data, but as the server was shut down, and that's why it's showing that message. Of course don't expect any fixes from unknown manufacturer, who's probably long since out of business.
     
    puppykickr, ocnbrze and Rio Rita like this.
  13. Rio Rita

    Rio Rita Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hi @James Brown60. Are you having the same problem? If so, is your phone an LeTV2? I haven't done the firewall suggestion yet, I looked at it earlier and am going to give it a go later. You say it cured it but your clock has gone strange - does that stop any apps working?
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  14. Mickelman

    Mickelman Lurker

    Thanks for all the insight, I got exactly the same problem with my LeTVX626 phone, also starting last Tuesday. Not tried any of the possible fixes yet.
     
  15. Rio Rita

    Rio Rita Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Looks like it might be the LeTV phones server? It seems to be doing it less often today, but maybe its time to find a new phone.
     
  16. mikedt

    mikedt 你好

    LeTV are long out of the device business, and their servers are now shut down.

    FWIW I finally stopped using China phones last month, and now have a shiny new Samsung Galaxy Note20 Ultra. :) BTW I am in China, and can read Chinese. :thumbsupdroid:
     
    #15 mikedt, Jun 17, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2021
  17. mikedt

    mikedt 你好


    It's actually a generic Qcloud(Tencent) error message for any server that was closed.
     
    #16 mikedt, Jun 17, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2021
    Rio Rita likes this.
  18. Rio Rita

    Rio Rita Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hi,. The reason my last 2 phones have been China phones is the price. I would love a shiny new Samsung but unfortunately the prices are out of my range at the moment. My first Cubot phone was £45 and this LeTV was about £80. Each one has lasted approx 4 years, and I batter phones playing games. My OH still uses a Cubot phone he bought about 7 years ago and it is fine.

    I haven't got a clue what to go for this time, maybe second hand reconditioned as I never tried that.
     
  19. Mickelman

    Mickelman Lurker

    I've always had a feeling that my Chinese phone is spying on me, and got that kind of confirmed now. ;) Well, a bit more seriously speaking I dont yet know the purpose of this more or less constant connection to this Chinese server. I guess that at least a temporary solution when I don't want to be disturbed is closing WiFi and mobile data - but that is of course closing me from all net activity. Speaking about other phone alternatives, could also a "raw" Chinese phone get these kind of problems (a phone only with the basic Android OS, with no alterations of it or add ons by the manufacturer)?
     
    Rio Rita likes this.
  20. Elaaaaaaa

    Elaaaaaaa Lurker

    I'm having the same problem since a few days ago. I have a Leeco x562. Unfortunately I can't effort a new cellphone... So I will appreciate any possible solution. (I'll try what you are commenting here).
     
    Rio Rita likes this.
  21. Rio Rita

    Rio Rita Newbie
    Thread Starter

    It looks like it is just Le phones. I was going to try the firewall idea but
    I have a friend with a DJI drone who is convinced it is spying on him, so you are probably right. I don't have a clue what info is being sent, but some kind of conversation has been going on without our knowledge
     
    mikedt likes this.
  22. Rio Rita

    Rio Rita Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I was very grateful for your ability to read Chinese, without your input I still wouldn't have a clue what it was!
     
    mikedt and puppykickr like this.
  23. puppykickr

    puppykickr Android Expert

    Reading some of your other responses, Tracker Control would let you know exactly what connections are being made, and allow you to block them individually.

    It also can tell you approximately (which countries) your info is being in contact with.

    It is not real difficult to use, but it can take a bit to be able to use your device efficiently again, especially if you block too much- which is very tempting to do, because you now have that option.

    It is quite simple to make a device fairly non-functional untill you unblock exactly what is required to work, or give up and turn the whole thing off, lol.

    Anyway, you can also use the built in ad-blocker, and it is the same ad-blocker as is used on NetGuard.

    But NoRoot gives immediate results, with very little setting up- and is extremely simple.

    There is also a log.

    The log is behind a paywall on NetGuard.
     
    Rio Rita and mikedt like this.
  24. mikedt

    mikedt 你好

    Le exited the smart-phone business about 4 years ago now, but looks like recently that their servers went off-line. I know the Le company went through some financial irregularities. and now just operates as a portal and streaming service for China only.

    I'm quite sure it won't secretly be phoning home the videos back to Beijing. :) However DJI will very likely have remote telemetry going on with their drones, things like usage stats and performance data, which one agrees to when the EULA boxes are checked in the DJI apps.
     
    #25 mikedt, Jun 18, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2021
    Rio Rita and puppykickr like this.
  25. r0mick

    r0mick Lurker

Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...