1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Inspire 4G on T-Mobile

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by John Jason, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. John Jason

    John Jason Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    302
    33
    43
    I'm supposed to have a job?
    Portland, left side North America
    I've been with AT&T for years, but with a plain old phone, therefore no data plan. I had, but returned, an Atrix 4G, and while I had it I fell in love with Android. I have been doing a lot of research on various 4G phones / plans, and what I really want is an Inspire 4G, but on T-Mobile instead of AT&T. I can get a practically new Inspire 4G locally for $350. A T-Mobile sales dude told me "any AT&T phone can be used on T-Mobile." If I buy the Inspire 4G and root it will it work if I switch to T-Mobile? Or was the sales dude naive / misinformed / lying?
     

    Advertisement

  2. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    The phone has to be unlocked to work on another carrier. I have used unlocked tmobile phones on att, I have also unlocked some phones myself (either att can give the code to unlock but this is kinda unlikely unless you give them a real good reason to get the code or you can check ebay and some people sell the code and the method to unlock)
     
    John Jason likes this.
  3. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Also I don't think the Inspire has the same 3G bands for T-mobile so you might only be able to get 2G speeds at best. I'm not even sure about 4G/HSPA+ either.

    Can anyone confirm this?
     
  4. John Jason

    John Jason Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    302
    33
    43
    I'm supposed to have a job?
    Portland, left side North America
    I found quite a few people on eBay willing to sell the unlock code for around $22.

    But regarding the bands as noted by shawn1224, I don't know. I don't even know where to look to find out.

    I was planning on buying a brand new one off-contract from a local seller on Craigslist for $350, but I waited too long and the phone is now sold. There will be others, though, I am sure. And it may be a blessing that I didn't buy it, now that a question about the bands has arisen. I'm off to google on the bands question.
     
  5. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Tmobile uses 1700/2100 MHz
    HTC Inspire uses 850/1900 MHz

    .... so doesn't look like you'll get any 3G or HSPA+ speeds only 2G
     
  6. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    From my 2 sec research on google before my ADD kicked in it would be only able to access edge network. For tmobile 3g you would need a device that can do 2100 and 1700 mhz. As per the htc website this device supports the following: HSPA/UMTS Dual-band (850/1900), GSM/GPRS/EDGE Quad-band (850/900/1800/1900 mhz)
     
  7. John Jason

    John Jason Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    302
    33
    43
    I'm supposed to have a job?
    Portland, left side North America
    Yep, just found the same thing here:

    How hard would it to have the Inspire on TMobile? [Archive] - xda-developers

    So if I want 4G on T-Mobile I'm stuck with their 4G phones. My choices are:

    Great phone, expensive plan with lousy bandwidth and maximum 4GB data (AT&T)
    Mediocre phone, cheaper plan with better bandwidth and unlimited data (T-Mobile)

    Mommmyyyy!!! Why can't I have what I want? Make them give me what I want!
     
  8. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    As explained in other threads if you look at the fine print for a carriers data plan explanation that unlimited plan is capped at 5gb at which point they can terminate your connection or just a slower connection so you will be so mad that you won't want to use the internet on your phone

    Also whats with the 4gb on ATT? They got a 4gb plan?
     
  9. John Jason

    John Jason Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    302
    33
    43
    I'm supposed to have a job?
    Portland, left side North America
    AT&T (in my area, at least) offers 200MB for $15 a month, 2GB for $25 a month, and 4GB for $45 a month. Regardless of which level you are on, if you exceed your allotment you are not cut off, they just bill you extra in increments. For example, if you are on 2GB and you go over, they automatically give you an additional 1Gb and bill you $15 for it.

    Some people who have had data plans with AT&T for a long time have unlimited data, but they are grandfathered and AT&T's legal department is squirreling as hard as they can to terminate their plans. Unfortunately, I am not such an AT&T customer. Therefore, the only way I can get unlimited data is to go to T-Mobile or Sprint, of which T-Mobile is the least bad alternative.

    From reading the net it is clear to me that at some point all carriers (in the US at least) will go to a tiered pricing structure, probably eliminating "unlimited data." I want to get a T-Mobile account because they are cheaper and offer me unlimited data, and if they drop unlimited data in the future I am hoping that I will be grandfathered. Ditto if Deutsche Telekom sells T-Mobile USA to AT&T.

    I had my mouth all set for an HTC Inspire, but now that I have discovered that I can't use it effectively on T-Mobile I am trying to get my heart around a Samsung Galaxy S 4G.

    The most annoying and frustrating part of my journey is that the wireless business in the US developed without universal standards (like television and radio), so carriers can play lock-in games. Every option I consider has a bitter aftertaste.
     
  10. socalcyclist

    socalcyclist Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    The HTC desire Hd might work with t mobile on all bands. It is basically the same as the inspire 4g, just the european version.
    Does anyone know for sure if it will work across all of t mo's bands?
     
  11. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    If you want T-Mobile just hold out out for the HTC Pyramid. Supposedly it's all spec'd out with a 4.3" qHD display, Qualcomm's new dual core snapdragon processor and the best part, it's pure Android. At least this is what the rumors are leading to. I was with TMO for 3 years and even though I had unlimited data, their network was crappy and it wasn't worth the hassle. I guess it all depends on your area, though they finally do seem to have a powerhouse device in the making, it's probably worth the wait.
     
    John Jason likes this.
  12. John Jason

    John Jason Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    302
    33
    43
    I'm supposed to have a job?
    Portland, left side North America
    Because AT&T throttled the bandwidth on the Atrix 4G and the Inspire 4G I decided to return the Atrix 4G and check out T-Mobile. I still have my AT&T account and I use my ancient Razr V3 with it. But a couple days ago I signed up for a T-Mobile prepaid plan with 2GB data. The same day I scored a MyTouch 3G used and in perfect condition for $80.

    Even though the MyTouch is only 3G Speedtest.net tells me that I get about twice the bandwidth as I did with the Atrix 4G.

    I am really thrilled to hear about the HTC Pyramid. My MyTouch 3G is adequate and will give me time to learn the fine points of Android. The internet says the Pyramid will probably be available at T-Mobile in May, and I can wait until then.
     
  13. mrcamp

    mrcamp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    135
    11
    38
    Chicago
    I do not think it's 3G bands are the same as tmobiles.

    HTC Desire HD - Full phone specifications

     
  14. a1yet

    a1yet Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    AT&T to Buy T-Mobile for $39 Billion USD
    T-Mobile 3G (i think 4G also) Phones Will Require Replacement After AT&T Merger

    SO buying this phone and unlocking it will give u a little while to use T-Mobiles services (maybe 2 years AT MOST) after that u will need an AT&T phone

    so this is the best GSM phone as it will be merger proof !!
     
  15. John Jason

    John Jason Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    302
    33
    43
    I'm supposed to have a job?
    Portland, left side North America
    I've been reading about this over and over ever since the planned merger was announced. Consider the cost to AT&T in terms of customer dissatisfaction, churning to Sprint or Verizon, and/or having to replace phones or at least heavily subsidize replacement phones. It seems to me that there is a far simpler and cheaper solution.

    Let me use my city as an example. Here T-Mobile and AT&T each have their own towers. After the merger AT&T would own all of them. The big cost of the towers is in the real estate and construction. The radios are trivial in comparison. So why couldn't AT&T just put their radios on the former T-Mobile towers, and T-Mobile's radios on the AT&T towers? All the phones would continue to work indefinitely.

    Or have I missed something?
     
  16. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ

    Yes your missing the fact that LTE needs bandwidth so eventually the 700 and 1700 that tmobile brings to the table will be LTE. The rest of your theory is how it will go
     
  17. TXGrunt

    TXGrunt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    classified
    Dirty Jersey
  18. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ

Share This Page

Loading...