1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Instability in velocity when oced

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by d3310n, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. d3310n

    d3310n Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011

    Jan 13, 2011
    280
    10
    38
    florida
    Am i the only one who cets a crash and has to pull battery when using the camera or any camera related app? Im oced at 748mhz when i go back to 600mhz i can use the camera.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Valkerie

    Valkerie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    407
    52
    53
    Some phones cannot handle any overclocking.
     
  3. Brandonson112

    Brandonson112 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    197
    45
    43
    Happens to me too, i just clock to 748 from 768 and can use the camera again
     
  4. dcooterfrog

    dcooterfrog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    175
    9
    36
    for me at 748 my keyboard acts funny.
    typing a "c" opens messaging app (sms) when composing an emial.
    729 is stable.
     
  5. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38

    You fix that by going to settings and turning it off. So you can stay at 748
     
  6. socobandit

    socobandit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    230
    24
    38
    SE PA
    My camera was actually doing just that last night....if I clicked the camera button, it would freeze and reboot, but if i went into the app drawer and selected camera it was fine.
     
  7. marzak

    marzak Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I am at 768 and the only thing that is weird is the Number 6. I have to hold it in for it to work.
     
  8. aaricchavez

    aaricchavez Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Yeah, using the camera button while overclocked causes my phone to reboot, though like socobandit said, if I open the camera a different way it's fine.

    @Valkerie, I don't think it has to do with the overclocking itself(yes, I know the ocing is related obviously) because I didn't have this issue before FroYo, I think it's a bug that's causing the problem vs the action of ocing itself. You get what i'm saying?
     
  9. hYpester21

    hYpester21 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    32
    0
    15
    high schooler
    california
    mine is stable at 806 :) the only thing thats weird about it when i press the space and the Y
     
  10. dcooterfrog

    dcooterfrog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    175
    9
    36
    turning what off.

    when I am typing an emial or entering a password with a "c" the 'messagng' app starts

    id love to clock higher.
     
  11. kicker07cvr12

    kicker07cvr12 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010

    Sep 29, 2010
    32
    3
    16
    ....
    Conyers, Ga
    if you go to settings then under applications it says quick launch... go through and clear them. i think you have to long press and then clear it... doesnt matter if you are OC or not just clear these and you will be set...

    hope ive helped...
     
  12. dcooterfrog

    dcooterfrog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    175
    9
    36
    ok
    I did that. ill try reclocking when I am sure that the new dalvik to cache is working perfectly.
     
  13. GRZLA

    GRZLA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    527
    211
    93
    Grand Prairie, TX
    Moving files around isn't going to make your CPU any more clockable than before. Everyones phone has a limit and nothing can change that.
     
  14. dcooterfrog

    dcooterfrog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    175
    9
    36
    no no no .
    I meant I don't want to try 2 new things at once. it messes up testing.
    if I get a force close I won't know if it's the overclock or the moved dalvik cache. so I won't know the best way to fix it.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...