1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Install AdamZ kernels?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by inssane, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town

    Advertisement

  2. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    Hmm.. it's a rom.tar file, it should probably install by the rom.tgz method in SPRecovery. Install > Install ROM from SD Card > Choose rom.tar file. Have you tried that?

    Then again, I'm really tired, and I could be way off here.
     
  3. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    No tar archives found.
    I have the whole zip DL copied to the nandroid folder, with all of the kernels inside - I also have a few images unzipped and zipped in the nandroid folder.
    Hmm, maybe I am missing something.
     
  4. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    F&*^

    IDK why, if it's just not installing it, but I have to nandroid restore back to where I was at.
    JHC, I hate this sometimes. I am restoring now and quitting for the night, any insight is welcome as to what I am doing wrong.
    N
     
  5. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Yeah, you DON'T extract the files. You keep it as a rom.tar file, put it on the root of your sdcard, and install using the method vince told you.

    Should learn how to use this method, as it is superior to update.zip & nandroid in every aspect, and every dev SHOULD be moving to this format.
     
  6. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    Yeah, same error with that method. Chrome didnt DL the .tar portion
    I have bigger issues now - see my new thread.
    :(

    It transferred with no bytes for some reason.
    I am DLing on my phone now, we will see. Cross fingers for battery savings (at Menards)
     
  7. sohc sti

    sohc sti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    154
    3
    36
    doing it that way gives me a status 1 nandroid exit. for some reason .tar and .tgz files keep doing this to me. would you happen to have any advice so i can get this working?

    sorry to hijack
     
  8. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    You need to rename the end of it and make sure it is rom.tgz then use install ROM.
     
  9. Trapper31

    Trapper31 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    109
    6
    36
    Cleveland
    I've heard a bunch of folks at Alldroid say to avoid using Chrome to download any kernels, roms, etc., for whatever reason. Maybe download with Firefox and give it another go?
     
  10. emdmao

    emdmao Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    384
    51
    53
    I have never installed a kernel on its own. The flash of Adamz kernel was successful, but it's been on the M screen for a long time, is this normal?
     
  11. sohc sti

    sohc sti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    154
    3
    36
    isnt it suposed to be .rom.tgz?

    i have done both ways (tgz and tar) numerous times, by downloading from my home computer, astro, even downdroid. i also cleared out the extra nandroid backups in the folder to see if there were too many but i keep getting the same result. i just cant seem to figure out what im doing wrong.
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Then you need to list your exact steps here so we can figure out where you are going wrong.
     
  13. sohc sti

    sohc sti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    154
    3
    36
    ok, i download both files from here, the one on the first page and the one on the second page, for adamz overclocking kernals

    Ultimate droid v7 - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum

    i move both files (have tried one at a time and both at the same time) directly to the root of my sd card.

    then, i reboot into recovery
    go to install
    choose from sd card
    click the file
    it says its performing a nandroid backup, after about a minute says done
    then it says installing the file
    and after about 30 seconds it says nandroid exited with status 1 error
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    How did you download them, as in what browser?
     
  15. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    OK - sorry I did not read all this before I did it again.
    I got it figured out, it DID need to be renamed -and it worked. NOT well with the BB ROM, but I went to Smoked 5.01 and it ran well. Words of advice:
    The lower the voltage the worse the benchmarks. None of the 1300s worked, but even at the HV 1200,, I was only benching 180s+ and 8.5 mflops, versus low 130s and almost 12 with 2.1 BB and Chevy 1200kernel.

    Smoked glass ROM seemed smoother for some reason, but I am going back to BB.
    I think flashing all these kernels and restoring nandroids frequently messed up my phone. I have been working on it for hours today - reboot issues, keep data, remove and wipe data, clean install, reinstall, reboot, looping reboot, no phone working for 3 hours today - dialer wouldnlt work, it has been insane.
    I am going to the Clean install of the BB - The verdict is in - BB and Chevy kernel.
     
  16. sohc sti

    sohc sti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    154
    3
    36
    Firefox. I think that's the only thing I haven't tried to get it to work is download from IE.
     
  17. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Try downloading them in Fx one more time - I know the kernels have been updated more than once, but I think that the links are now for the latest version.

    Also, see if your Nandroid folder is full of backups. If so, try getting rid of some of the ones you do not need anymore, since it makes a new backup every time you run it.
     
  18. sohc sti

    sohc sti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    154
    3
    36
    still the same result. nandroid exited with status 1. im going to try and find an ese update.zip overclocking kernal instead.
     
  19. sohc sti

    sohc sti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    154
    3
    36
    ok went to chevy's 5 slot 1.25 kernal. its not as fast as with petes rom but i think i can live with that. 150ish in setcpu vs petes 130ish. thanks for the help either way.
     
  20. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    +1
    Only I went back :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...