1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Install new CPU governer on a rooted phone

Discussion in 'Android Rooting' started by gaviniboom, Jan 18, 2016.

  1. gaviniboom

    gaviniboom Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hi; I just recently rooted my phone and installed a custom rom, however, I want to install the cpu governer interactivex which I already have the c code of. I'm having a bit of difficulty because I don't know how to compile a kernel and only flashed an already compiled one, so I'm wondering if I can just install the cpu governer into the phone (already working) using a new driver or something? Thanks for your help.

     


  2. Best Answer:
    Post #4 by Madbat, Jan 19, 2016 (1 points)

    1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!


      Download

       
  3. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert

    No, it has to be ported to the kernel then compiled.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  4. gaviniboom

    gaviniboom Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Okay; is there a way I can back up all my appdata and things like that? Also do you have any recommendations for a rom source code and a building guide?

    Sorry I've never really been good at compiling stuff
     
  5. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert

    Well, cyanogen has the most device support. They have building guides and resources here
    You just have to select a device to build for.
    Backing up app data, I use titanium backup from the play store. But there are tons of options out there. Titanium is the most widely used, and feature filled.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  6. gaviniboom

    gaviniboom Newbie
    Thread Starter

    How do I use Titanium Backup? It looks really complicated

    Edit: I found out. Thanks!

    Edit 2: Now I have another problem: I added the cpu frequencies to this cyanogenmod zip I downloaded from github but I am having trouble building it. All the guides online told me to use repo but I want to build from this zip I already have and repo keeps saying 404 not found. How do I compile that folder?
     
    #5 gaviniboom, Jan 19, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2016
  7. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert

    Not sure that's possible.
     
  8. gaviniboom

    gaviniboom Newbie
    Thread Starter

    So I have to use repo?
     
  9. gaviniboom

    gaviniboom Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Change of plans then. Is there any way for me to disallow the system to change CPU frequency? The kernel locks the minimum frequency to 1496
     
    #8 gaviniboom, Jan 19, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2016
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member

    Not on a stock kernel, no. This type of low-level tweaking is usually only available in custom kernels.

    What device are you using? If there's CM support for it then it's highly likely there are also custom kernels available that allow adjustment of clock freq, along with many other options.
     
  11. gaviniboom

    gaviniboom Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I'm not on a stock kernel. Using a ATT Nexus 6.
    Don't know how to compile CM because repo returns 404 file not found for some files
     
  12. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert

    If you're using a custom kernel, use a kernel control app like kernel adiutor. Then set min and max (set them the same to stay 1 freq) but locking 1 single freq isn't recommended, and is horribly inefficient. You want it to ramp up and down.
     
  13. gaviniboom

    gaviniboom Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Okay, I'll just use the Interactive Governor then.
     
  14. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert

    If you're using kernel adiutor and you want your specific settings to stick, tick the "set on boot" switch at the top. Then your settings will stay, even after a reboot.
     
  15. gaviniboom

    gaviniboom Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I'm using nofrills because my phone kernel keeps trying to force minimum frequency to about 1400
     
  16. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert

    If its a u.s. s3, the minimum should be able to go down to like 380mhz.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  17. gaviniboom

    gaviniboom Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Whenever I set it below 1400 (to 300) it jumps back
     
  18. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert

    Must be how the kernel you're using is set. That's too high for minimum. I would try a different kernel.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  19. gaviniboom

    gaviniboom Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Okay; thanks
     
  20. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert

    Also, try kernel adiutor. It's a little more modern than no frills.
     
  21. gaviniboom

    gaviniboom Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I did; I prefer no frills; it's simpler with the same functionality (cpu-wise, not gpu-wise)
     
  22. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert

    Fair enough.
     
    forresterchristie likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...