1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Installed TWRP but can't enter recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by codezer0, Oct 24, 2018.

  1. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Nope. Same error.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    6,977
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,977
    5,488
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Oh, Try..(hopefully):

    sudo fastboot flash recovery lgk30_twrp.img

    sudo fastboot boot lgk30_twrp.img
     
  3. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Uh, what? Clipboard01.jpg
     
  4. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    You stuck a hyphen in the last command. Best to just copy/paste what I wrote.

    EDIT: Actually the last 2.

    EDIT2 - My bad. Filename appears correct. Back to the drawing board...
     

    Attached Files:

    #29 Father Guido, Oct 28, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2018
  5. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Clipboard02.jpg
    That's the name of the file, though, as it arrives from the XDA link. the twrp site insists they have no such file for the v20 as it is.

    Tried renaming the file to just twrp.img, and then I get this:
     
  6. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    Ya, just reread and agree. I'll look in a bit (time permitting) and go back to edit my reply - sorry. Crazy house today....

    EDIT: Are you 100% sure the bootloader is unlocked?
     
    Mikestony and bcrichster like this.
  7. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    I understand. it's been crazy busy for me. Hence why it took so long for me to actually try this.
     
  8. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    OK. I *think I found it (damn brain farts). Try:

    fastboot boot recovery recovery-twrp-us996-2018-10-18.img

    Pretty sure I missed an argument:

    fastboot boot recovery <image-name>

    EDIT: Nope, that ain't necessary. Should be the former. If I don't fall asleep after dinner, I'll regroup - sorry...
     
    #33 Father Guido, Oct 28, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2018
    Mikestony likes this.
  9. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    Ok, I got up to have a smoke and decided to plug in the actual phone. Note than I'm on Linux, but adb and fastboot terminal screens are the same regardless of native OS. I did try to boot the image:

    fastboot boot <my-image-name> and encountered security error, so I decided to actually flash it:
    fastboot flash <my-image-name> and it downloaded successfully.
    fastboot reboot got me back to the phone's OS

    Next:
    ==============================================================
    [actual terminal input/output] (other than editing device serial for this posting)

    curley@Z97N-WIFI /Phones/LG/V20-VS995 $ adb devices
    List of devices attached
    LGVS995c16xxxxx device

    curley@Z97N-WIFI /Phones/LG/V20-VS995 $ adb reboot recovery
    curley@Z97N-WIFI /Phones/LG/V20-VS995 $ adb devices
    List of devices attached
    LGVS995c16xxxxx recovery

    curley@Z97N-WIFI /Phones/LG/V20-VS995 $
    ==============================================================
    And I'm now in TWRP.
    You should be as well. If so, flash Magisk and good to go from there.

    Unsure what is different on your end, but I need to go back and edit/delete my earlier post about booting into TWRP from the computer terminal, as it doesn't work on this device. I think I know *why,* but the brain isn't 100% in gear. <deleted>

    Bottom line, if the recovery flashed correctly, then "adb reboot recovery" should work. It does here...
     
    #34 Father Guido, Oct 28, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2018
    bcrichster and Mikestony like this.
  10. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    Ah-hah! I should have read up on this before jumping in...

    This is utter bullsh*t and is your very problem! NEVER follow a "How To Root <whatever>" from some obscure site (skyneel.com - really?). Whoever would trust their device to such an undocumented piece of crap with ZERO feedback deserves a brick. You are very lucky. You aren't new here, so you should know better. Either ask right here, or go to XDA. Both forums have very talented and experienced participants. Did you see any "participants" @skyneel.com?

    OK, scolding over <g>. You're still going to need to use a variant of Dirty Cow, and it's not nearly as easy as that POS link suggests. Check out a REAL thread here. Regarding the term recowvery over there: it's not a typo and is meant to define that particular exploit. Follow the very nice guide and you should be fine.

    Good Luck...
     
  11. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    There was nothing I could find on XDA... as it is, I couldn't even find a compatible TWRP on the TWRP site.
     
  12. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    There is no "official" TWRP, only some (actually pretty good) unofficial ones. Sorry to say, you're probably screwed anyway if you've taken any updates. This will only work on older firmware (pre-November 2016) I think. There may be a KDZ available you can flash, but anti-rollback might be of issue. "Uppercut" may help, but it can get deep. Time to do some serious reading there, Baba Looey.

    Baba_Looey.png
     
    #37 Father Guido, Oct 28, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2018
  13. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    How would I be able to tell what it's on? because I only did receive it this past weekend.
     
  14. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    You might luck out, so DON"T take any updates just yet. Go to Settings/About Phone/Software info and you'll see "Android security patch level" with a date underneath. Best to research the actual "Software version," but the former is a pretty good indicator. Good luck.

    EDIT: A very brief thread search (of the one I linked to on XDA) indicates this may not be an issue on the US996 after all. Better you search/read up on it yourself as I have a different model (VS995). Plenty of help there if you simply ask the question and provide your model/firmware version. Best to search first as always....
     
    #39 Father Guido, Oct 28, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2018
  15. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    This is what it says i got. This is how it arrived to me.

    Capture+_2018-10-28-20-47-56.png

     
  16. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    Just took another peek at the thread. While the exploit won't work on yours, the very 1st line in the OP states: "Note for US996: It's probably easier for you guys just to flash TWRP the normal way and pull your battery then do the factory reset dance to get in!" This tells me I am mistaken, however you will lose your data (to be expected anyway). If you've already flashed the recovery I linked you to earlier (post now deleted - sorry), shutdown the phone and do the button press thingy to get into recovery:

    Power down, pull battery, replace.
    Hold power + Vol down until you see the LG logo appear, then release Power briefly, and press/hold power again.
    You'll see the "factory reset" screen when successful (may take some practice).
    Select yes with the Vol down button, then power to confirm, and it will ask you again, so repeat.
    You'll either boot into recovery (that you reported was successfully flashed) or you're back to stock.

    Apologies for the "scolding," but I think it's that simple. What's to lose that you wouldn't otherwise? Should you succeed getting into TWRP, go ahead and flash Magisk as this could help with "adb reboot recovery." Atleast you'll be able to use the "Simple Reboot" app.

    I'm thinking you are lucky - I would go for it!
     
    #41 Father Guido, Oct 29, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2018
  17. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    I've tried a few times already, but what happens is the same. It asks me to factory reset. Yet even when I agree, all it does is just boot the phone at the end. TWRP never loads.
     
  18. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    I don't have this particular model. Something isn't setup correctly or it's unique to the US996. I'd suggest asking in the forum for your model.

    EDIT: I did find the 10f (rootable) KDZ here in case you brick. You can use LGUP combined with Uppercut to restore to pure stock.
     
    #43 Father Guido, Oct 31, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2018
    bcrichster likes this.
  19. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Uh, which forum? I thought that's what I was doing by posting here. :blushDroid:
     
  20. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    No, LGUP is the Windows only software to flash a KDZ (i.e. the full phone). Uppercut is an app to assist in using LGUP. Downloads and help in this XDA forum. You only need it if you brick or otherwise need to revert to an earlier S/W version (i.e. "Update"). Link in my last post is for the actual (pre-November 2016) KDZ (for US996) that the Dirty Santa exploit works on.
     
  21. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Ohhhh... I think I get what you're getting at~

    Also, loving this extended battery I got on the phone. Did a first full charge on Monday... and even today on wednesday with my usual usage, it's still got life left in it. that is why I wish more current phones were build like this. It's also another reason I despise sealed battery phones.
     
  22. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    Ya, I'm a Motorola fan myself but the "user replaceable" battery has been is gone from their line-up for awhile. Unfortunately, this is soon to be for most every device. Hope you fare well...
     
  23. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    After what I dealt with, regarding the MXPE, I never want to even think about another Motorola phone. the last straw was when Lenovo took over and sued every distributor of their parts, so that what used to be a reasonably complete kit for an OEM replacement battery for $15 then became a chinese knock-off for $50 sans the replacement glue to hold it in place, let alone to re-apply the backing of the phone. And of course, no way to link up multiple batteries in parallel or something to even have halfway decent battery life. Even when I was able to play it, that thing went from full charge to flat on sixty minutes of Pokemon Go. That's just unacceptable.
     
  24. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    6,977
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,977
    5,488
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    I can't help but think that a 3,000mAh battery dying in only an hr is due to something else you may not be considering.. Even GPS navigation lasted hours on same phone when I got it, it's actually a decent device in itself. It also had no issues playing PokemonGo, for the time I could force myself to play it (not a diehard fan)
     
  25. codezer0

    codezer0 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    For the brief time I had a part time job as a delivery driver, using maps for navigation was not much better. I usually had to plug it in to the car charger or the external battery after about an hour into what would be about 9 hours of driving a day. And if not the car charger, it would happily wreck cables and drain the external battery before it would even go up a %'age on the phone itself. And people wonder why I'm skeptical (at best) about battery cases. :mad:

    During that time, the battery would just get hot and refuse to charge at all, but happily drain the crap out of the external bank! nevermind at times just crashing while navigating, which would trip me up or force me to pull over and try and get the directions going again.
     

LG V20

The LG V20 is a flagship that launched in September 2016. The device launched with Android 7.0 Nougat out of the box. The phone featured a 5.7-inch Quantum IPS display, Snapdragon 820 chipset, dua-rear cameras,a secondary display, and more.

Share This Page

Loading...