1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Installing Android on a reasonably cheap HTC phone

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by hoppipolla, Dec 27, 2009.

  1. hoppipolla

    hoppipolla Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Hiya all!

    I was wondering if anyone could give me any advice for my possible plan of grabbing a fairly cheap (under
     

    Advertisement

  2. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
  3. hoppipolla

    hoppipolla Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Thats a good suggestion although I would probably have to get it sim free (pricey) or unlocked myself (probably difficult :( ). Its a good bet, but thing is I want to use my phone on 3.
     
  4. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    I think it may be unlocked already but if not , it only costs like a tenner anyway :)
     
  5. hoppipolla

    hoppipolla Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    oh ok cool, and yes the Pulse does look like one of my best options :) Will it auto-update to android 2/2.1? Or?
     
  6. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    If and when an update is available it will be pushed to your phone so basically you will receive a pop up message on your phone and all you have to do is click download.

    You'll know if an update is being rolled out because it will be on the news sites like phandroid ;)
     
  7. brykins

    brykins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    647
    77
    98
    Peterborough, UK
    I don't THINK that the Pulse will get an OS update - I'm not sure if it has the memory that is needed for OS2.x
     
  8. hoppipolla

    hoppipolla Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Ah I see that's a shame :(

    So, I won't get the option on a Pulse you don't think? Maybe I should consider getting one more likely to be compatible...

    So, where do these updates come from? Is it my network or Google? I'm guessing it's not the phone manufacturer... thing is if I install Android on a phone myself, I take it that will make updating to 2 (for example) tricky or impossible?

    Sorry, I know desktop Linux well but I'm a TOTAL noob to all this Android stuff ^_^
     
  9. brykins

    brykins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    647
    77
    98
    Peterborough, UK
    As I understand it, you'll have trouble installing Android on another device as you won't have drivers for screen, radio (telephone), etc.

    OS updates are a bit hit and miss it seems. Those people with non-network branded manufacturers devices (HTC, Motorola, etc) ought to get OS updates direct from the manufacturer. Those of us with network branded devices (mine is a T-Mobile G2....sames as an HTC Hero) have to wait for the network to decide whether or not to provide the update and for them to send it to us. Might happen, might not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...